Dannon Oikos Review

Dannon Oikos Review

March 17, 2017   12 Comments

This Dannon Oikos review came about because it seems like the shelf is sprouting new yogurts on a daily basis.

I cannot believe how many choices there are WITHIN ONE BRAND that is a subset of Stonyfield yogurt. Stonyfield was purchased by Danone Group (only of interest if you follow yogurt as I do).

I like taking a look at yogurt because so many people rely on them as a delicious source of protein (and they are a snack). I have written an Oikos Triple Zero review and a Chobani 100 review in the last year.

What about all these Oikos yogurts? The first thing to be aware of is that they are not all Greek yogurt. How about that? Also, they are not all the best choice if you are looking to be healthy.

Oikos crunch is Greek yogurt but I would call it a dessert item. When you add chocolate caramel pretzel to a yogurt it generally means more sugar. This yogurt has a whopping 23 grams (over 4 teaspoons in 5 ounces). I have to say taste wise that I like the Chobani flip better (also a dessert).

These two Oikos yogurts are interesting. One is zero fat (blue label) and the other is made with whole milk (red label). If you are color blind, you are in trouble.

Both feature 14 grams or so of sugar BUT the whole milk yogurt has 4.5 grams of fat.

Nutrition facts for strawberry Oikos zero fat:

110 calories, 0.0 g fat, 0.0 g saturated fat, 15.0 g carbohydrates, 14 g sugar, 12 g protein, 0 g fiber, 50 mg sodium, 4 SmartPoints

Nutrition facts for Lemon Meringue Oikos whole milk:

150 calories, 4.5 g fat, 3 g saturated fat, 15.0 g carbohydrates, 13 g sugar, 11 g protein, 0 g fiber, 50 mg sodium, 6 Smart Points

I wish they had decided to lower the sugar in the whole milk version because it tastes so much better than the non-fat. The fat gives it depth and I think it would be perfect with 6 grams of sugar – but alas.

Finally, we have the Triple Zero – blended Greek yogurt that I like and this weird yogurt drink. Do not confuse the drink with the yogurt even though they have the same black packaging. THEY ARE NOT THE SAME THING and you have to stand there for 5 minutes to determine how they are different.

The Oikos yogurt drink was terrible. It tasted like fake berry, sweetened chalk. It promises 10 grams of protein but it also has 11 grams of sugar.

When are these companies going to learn that we love more protein but we also want less sugar?

These both use Stevia but the Triple Zero yogurt has zero added sugar – only 6 grams for a 5.3 ounce serving. This sugar naturally occurs in the milk. The yogurt has 15 grams of protein.

Have you tried any of these? What do you think?


Other posts you might like:


Oikos Triple Zero Review

Triple Zero Oikos: A Surprisingly Good Find in Greek Yogurt

Those black containers up there with the NFL logo don’t exactly look like they are being marketed to women....


Chobani 100 Review

Chobani Simply 100: Friend or Foe?

Chobani is the yogurt we all should love. Look at that packaging!....


Make Eating Well Fun and Easy! Subscribe


12 Comments:

The coffee flavor topped with a packet of Emerald chocolate dusted almonds is a 6 sp indulgence. And they left room in the carton for a topping.

on March 18, 2017

The Triple 0 vanilla is my go-to...I LOVE it and I feel great about eating it. How often c ptpan you say THAT about something you love!!!! I use 3/4 cup and add 1 PT. worth nuts and 1 PT. worth mini chic chips and feel like I'm treating myself!!!

on March 18, 2017

LOVE Triple 0 Vanilla! I mix in 2 T of peanut butter and then dip apple slices into it for lunch. OR I mix in some canned pumpkin which makes it more of a puree, also for fruit dipping or, as a dessert or kid snack - graham crackers. It is the only yogurt I eat now. I have tried their other Triple 0 flavors but think vanilla is the best.

on March 18, 2017

Currently I am enjoying a high protein yogurt daily, I do add a handful of walnuts as well. There are only 6-7 grams of sugar in each flavor. The deal breaker for me is the sugar grams. I taste tested a new yogurt in the grocery store last week. I nearly gagged. I asked for the amount of grams of sugar per serving and she told me 22. 22!! Do people realize just how much sugar that is, it's 5.5 teaspoons!! Yes, some sugars will occur naturally, but not 22!

on March 18, 2017

Thanks, Lisa, for always giving us the 'skinny' on the latest yogurts. It's so helpful especially when out and about and in need of a healthy snack. I can just as easily pop into a Stop n Shop for this treat rather than any fast food place.
I want to share a new yummy yogurt topping-- For anyone like me who overbuys cranberries when they're available, [I recently found I had 5 bags of fresh cranberries in my freezer!] I decided to make a healthy relish topping to liven up plain greek yogurt. I put 1 whole organic orange [including skin], 1 whole 8oz bag of cranberries, and 1/4 cup c.palm sugar into the blender. This made an awesome flavor blast for the long winter funk I was in. I used in my turkey sandwich too. It's so good and keeps for 2 weeks. Hope someone finds this helpful too.

on March 18, 2017

I found a new brand (to me anyway) that I like - all natural ingredients and lower sugar. It is called Siggi's. It has 0g fat; 120 cal; 11g sugar & 16g protein, so 3 WW points; cup size is 5.3 oz or 150 g. No weird taste from artificial sweeteners. They also have a full fat version that is yummy, I think it is about 150 cal.

As you've said, the best is probably plain greek yogurt - you get a full cup for 3 points, I sometimes add Smuckers fruit & honey jam, a heaping teaspoon is 1 point.

on March 18, 2017

What do you think of Siggi's? I love the Orange and Ginger but it's very hard to find.

on March 18, 2017

I have trouble eating Dannon yogurt since someone told me about carmine. There is no reason for it. Now I have to look at every yogurt label and also wonder what else is in it.

on March 18, 2017

I was eating the Oikos Triple 0 daily for breakfast for a while because of the lower sugar content but I after realized that I was having an unusual amount of embarrassing gas throughout the day and it stopped when I switched yogurt for a day, I switched over to the Oikos vanilla yogurt for my breakfast. I read your article about the Triple 0 having chicory root which causes gas too. Don't know if it is because I have no gall bladder or if I'm just sensitive to chicory root.

on March 18, 2017

The Oikos Triple 0 are terrific! They are now my go to for dessert! The chocolate is like chocolate pudding and I put Land O Lakes whipped light cream on top which only has 1 gm of sugar in 2 tablespoons and 15 calories. I just found the apple cinnamon flavor Oikos but haven't tried it yet. Love the peach and I think I have had the banana creme one that they make. I think it is a great new brand of yogurt.

on March 19, 2017

I love the Oikos Dannon Toasted coconut Yogurt. Its yummy. I only tried the triple zero once when it first came out and I could not eat a second spoon. The artificial sweetener or whatever that is was flat nasty. I may attempt it again. But I need to find something else, maybe I will try Siggis as someone suggested. Thanks for the review.

on March 20, 2017

I love the Oikos Triple Zero yogurt, especially vanilla. I top it with sliced strawberries and 1/2 cup of Kashi Go Lean cereal for crunch, 5 smartpoint breakfast.

on March 21, 2017


Add a comment:

(required)

(required, never published)

(optional)


Hi, I'm Snack Girl and my website is devoted to making eating well fun. I create recipes, review food, and talk a lot about how to best journey down the healthy road.


 

100+ Healthy Snack Ideas

Slender Kitchen Meal Plans


© 2017 Snack-Girl.com