Dave’s Killer Bread: It Won’t Kill You

Daves killer bread review

January 18, 2016   18 Comments

America’s favorite organic sliced bread is sort of amazing.

It features “Dave” on the packaging and seems almost quaint in it’s presentation. My husband found this at Costco. I don’t usually want him to shop there because he tends to come home with a ridiculous amount of stuff. Snow storm? No worries, we can survive Armageddon.

Right away, I checked the nutrition facts as he is far less picky than I am.

For one slice = 120 calories, 2 g fat, 0.0 g saturated fat, 22 g carbohydrates, 5 g sugar, 5 g protein, 5 g fiber, 180 mg sodium, 4 SmartPts

I put it to my “bread test” to ensure it is nutritious – is the first ingredient whole grain? Yes! Does it have more than 4 grams of fiber? Yes! Does it have less than 4 grams of sugar? Uh Oh – 5 grams – but not far off.

But, it tastes so good! I love all the seeds on the crust

It has a ridiculous combination of seeds and grains: flax, sunflower, sesame, pumpkin, millet, barley, rye, quinoa, buckwheat, poppy…..

And it manages to have 45% of your daily value of Manganese, 20% of your daily value of Selenium, and 10% of your daily value of magnesium in every slice.

It doesn’t taste like cardboard – it is delicious – and you only need one slice to feel full. I think the 5 grams of protein have something to do with that.

Here is a link to Dave’s Killer Bread website so you can give it a try

Have you seen Dave’s Bread? What do you think of it?

Other posts you might like:

Archer Farms Bread Review

Can You Find Healthy Bread In Target?

If you are like me, you live in a town near a Target that has food in it. My Target just added fresh food such as eggs, bananas, and lunch meat....

Ezekiel Bread Review

The Best Packaged Bread You Can Buy

Last week, Snack Girl took on the subject of food labels (see: Confused By Food Labels? Here’s A Solution ).....

Make Eating Well Fun and Easy! Subscribe


Lisa, I absolutely love, love, love Dave's Killer bread! One slice is really enough. Thanks for what you do--I always look forward to what you have to say!

on January 18, 2016

Sounds like a very healthy and hardy bread [for my new paninni-maker which I haven't tried yet!]. Costco is 45 mins from me but I get there on occasion :)

on January 18, 2016

You found it at Costco? I've been wanting to try this bread but not willing to buy the 6 loaves required to order on their site. I'll have to keep an eye out!

on January 18, 2016

I had only been able to find this bread at a local organic market and they had it frozen already. Recent trip to Sam's Club...hello found it fresh and two loaves for the price I was paying for one at the organic market...win!!! My family loves this bread!

on January 18, 2016

You can buy Daves Killer Bread at Safeway.

on January 18, 2016

This bread is sold at Krogers.

on January 18, 2016

This bread is awesome and you can get it in a smaller version, also. 1 slice at 60 calories! You can have a whole sandwich for 120 calories plus ingredients...

on January 18, 2016

LOVE Dave's Bread - they make a 60 and a 70 calorie one that I get since I am a WW - I get it at Safeway here in CA. When I they are sold out I usually buy the larger loaf and eat 1 slice like you did - it is enough - no bread like it IMHO - have even seen it at Grocery Outlet (which I love) - they have amazing products there from time to time - love your Blog - so informative - Thank you - firs time I am commenting!!

on January 18, 2016

The story of this bread is as great as the bread! They're in Oregon (yay, Oregon!) and not only is this the best bread out there, but they are incredibly philanthropic---and the story of their beginnings is inspirational. Read their story--then eat their bread!

on January 18, 2016

My only concert is it has so much sodium. If you make a sandwich, you start off with 360 mg of sodium without putting anything on it. I'm sure it's used as a preservative. I wish they made a lower sodium version. Once you reach age 50 or so, you are supposed to keep your sodium intake around 1500 - 1600 mg per day. Those two slices of bread are already 25% of that!

on January 18, 2016

4 SP is too many for me to sacrifice for a single slice of bread, no matter how good. Will look up SP on the smaller, lowest calorie variety (anyone know the SP offhand??), then keep my eyes open for it at Grocery Outlet. Thanks for the tip!

on January 18, 2016

Lisa, I just love this bread...Even my Vegan son-in-law eats it..One slice is so fillimg... YUM!!

on January 18, 2016

Great post! Next best thing to sprouted bread! Get healthy America!

on January 18, 2016

My whole family loves that bread!

on January 18, 2016

4 pts for one slice is WAY too much for me. I need the "sandwich" experience. I read above that someone found a lesser calorie one, that is what I would be interested in.

on January 18, 2016

I live in the midwest and found it at our Sam's. First taste was in Az. You can call them and they will tell you were you cab find it in your area. Love it, so tickled I cab finally get it here.

on January 18, 2016

OMG!!! Dave's Bread has been and continues to be my cocaine! The idea of portion control goes right out the door when I'm jonesing for really good bread. Thank God that doesn't happen too often. Careful, this stuff is addictively awesome! Just finished a slice this morning with a little PB and 1/4 banana.

on January 19, 2016

Sounds delicious, but at 22 grams of carbs per slice, way too high for a diabetic.

on January 21, 2016

Add a comment:


(required, never published)


Hi, I'm Snack Girl and my website is devoted to making eating well fun. I create recipes, review food, and talk a lot about how to best journey down the healthy road.

100+ Healthy Snack Ideas

My Book: Snack Girl to the Rescue!


© 2016 Snack-Girl.com