A UFO for Exercise

Misfit Shine Activity Monitor Review

May 22, 2014   16 Comments

Snack Girl likes to say she put the “potato” in “couch potato”. Yes, she hasn’t met a comfy couch she doesn’t like.

I can sit for hours in one place - turning the pages of a book - without moving a hair. It takes talent to stay as still as I can.

Now, as you know, I advocate for health so I fight my nature every day. Recently a pal of mine told me about an activity tracker called a Shine and told me I had to get one.

The company that makes it calls it: “The world’s most elegant physical activity monitor.” I have been wearing it for over two weeks and many have asked me what kind of watch it is. It is quite cute.

First, it retails for around $100-$120 and it syncs with a smartphone (iPhone or Android). I didn’t have an iPhone until last month and I still can't figure out how to answer calls on it - but I did manage to make this device work.

What does it do? It lets you know how much activity you have completed in your day – walking, running, or swimming. You set a goal and you tap on your monitor to find out how close you are to making that goal. It is a circle with lights and (for example) if half the lights light up - then you are halfway to your goal.

It also tracks your sleep habits if you wear it to bed.

The Shine is water resistant and runs on a battery so you don’t have to charge it (like a Fitbit).

It does not, however, know if you are at your gym doing push-ups because it measures movement on your wrist. When I do a push-up, my wrist doesn’t move like when I am walking. It didn’t know when I was lifting weights or doing my really tough work-out.

I find that with most gadgets like this, you get out what you put into it. If you are gung-ho on your goal number of miles or steps per day – this monitor will motivate you to get it done. I did find that if I was close to my goal at the end of the day, I would walk my dog around the yard to make it.

If, on the other hand, yet another goal stresses you out and overwhelms you – then, you will ignore it.

I have found myself ignoring it on the weekend when I like to sit still.

Overall, it is easy to use and fun but you still have to WANT to move.

Have you tried any activity monitors? What is your experience?

This product was received for review consideration. No other compensation was provided.


Other posts you might like:


fiveminutesb

Who Needs Cross-Fit? Five Minutes Is All You Need

Snack Girl recently heard about a gym that charges $160 per month for something called "Cross-Fit".


girlsexerciseb

The Secret Of Building A Healthy Body (For People With Little Time or Money)

Obviously, the women above got great bodies by going to the gym. Look at how fit they look!...


Snack Girl receives a small percentage of sales from links to Amazon.com.

Misfit Shine - Activity and Sleep Monitor

  $72.50

Amazon.com


Make Eating Well Fun and Easy! Subscribe


16 Comments:

I have a Polar, and I LOVE it! It was reasonably priced for my needs. I workout a lot so I don't necessarily need to track steps, but I am interested in my heart rate/calories burned.

on May 22, 2014

I've used fitbit since the day they came out. I've used each of their models too - but currently I use the Zip. I don't care about monitoring my sleep patterns - I generally base those on how tired I am the next day and how many times I had to get up in the night to use the restroom (lol). I love the zip and the app/technology that Fitbit uses fits with my active lifestyle - I use My Fitness Pal to track food and the two link together. For running and cycling I use a Garmin Forerunner 220.

on May 22, 2014

I use the Garmin Vivofit and love it. It sets the goal for you or you set your own. The goals it sets is based on your previous movement so it is always going up to challenge you. It does not do a good job of tracking swimming though...

on May 22, 2014

I am on my third JawBone UP band. There have been lots of bugs in my previous bands, but JawBone has always gladly replaced them! It monitors my steps, sleep, provides great tips and can be aligned with other apps like My Fitness Pal and Lose It.

on May 22, 2014

Love my FitBit Zip. Love to reach 10,000 steps a day.

on May 22, 2014

I got a fitbit for my birthday a month ago and have not taken it off! I love it. My husband and brother both have one and we kinda compete for daily and weekly steps! I have a desk job and I found it amazing how little I move in a regular day.

on May 22, 2014

I have been using the fitbit flex since December 2013. The act of monitoring one's activity raises one's awareness level, which can lead to healthy changes. I have been physically active for years, but the fitbit showed me that I have days where I am quite sedentary (4,000 to 6,000 steps) unless I make a point to get in extra steps. My habits have changed some so I park as far away from destinations as possible (within reason) and walk to errands more than in the past. The sleep tracking has allowed me to better understand my sleep patterns and the amount that works best for me. Wearable devices are not perfect, but they can affect change if we let them.

on May 22, 2014

I got the fitbit Force for Valentines day and I have not had the rash. I love it! I agree, when I see that I am close to my goal, I try to make it. I have been cooped up though trying to write my thesis and my step count is dismal. But I use it to encourage myself. I walk just to get the numbers up.

on May 22, 2014

Love my Omron HJ-150 Hip Pedometer. Very basic, easy to use, don't have to measure steps and enter info - just put it on and go. In good weather I try to do at least 15,000/day.

on May 22, 2014

I have the Jawbone and it's the same concept, I actually really love it though. I feel like it holds me accountable, especially if I haven't reached my daily walking goal then I will throw on some sneakers and head out so that I stay on top of it. I would recommend an activity tracker to everyone!

on May 22, 2014

I used the WeightWatchers ActiveLink. After 4-5 months of trying, I was unable to get it to accurately record my activity, so I stopped using it. It took several months of initiating chargebacks to get WW to stop billing me for the subscription. I wouldn't use this again.

on May 22, 2014

Hmm..let me know when you come across one that zaps you with an electric surge whenever you sit down for too long. Now THAT is a device that might be worth the money!

on May 22, 2014

I love my Fitbit! I've been using it for 2+ years now. Just returned from a trip to Italy -- and logged about 10 miles a day walking. I find it motivating -- it makes me aware of my active vs. sedentary days. Also use it for sleep tracking and like the silent alarm feature so I don't wake others.

on May 22, 2014

I still love MyFitnessPal - but I'm lonely on it. Anyone who wants to join me, I'm Sunshine20124 / sunshineplease@hotmail.co.uk

I have used various pedometers etc in the past but I find what snack girl says to be true - it was another thing to pat me on the back when I wanted to do something but I ignored it when I wanted to!
X

on May 23, 2014

It costs too much!

on May 25, 2014

I'm a knitter: if I put it on my right wrist (my yarn-throwing hand) will it count that as exercise?

on May 28, 2014


Add a comment:

(required)

(required, never published)

(optional)


Hi, I'm Snack Girl and my website is devoted to making eating well fun. I create recipes, review food, and talk a lot about how to best journey down the healthy road.

100+ Healthy Snack Ideas

My Book: Snack Girl to the Rescue!


 

© 2016 Snack-Girl.com