Aldi Review

Aldi review

February 20, 2018   63 Comments

My Aldi review is for those who have driven by it and wondered if they should go in.

It arrived in my town next to the Home Depot and it didn’t really look like a grocery store. Aldi is a discount supermarket and it reminds me of a miniature Costco. It has its own brands of food and random other stuff that is heavily discounted.

The business model is fewer employees (paid a living wage) and a small footprint make a lower cost market.

The first thing you notice is that the carts are not hanging out in the parking lot. You must insert a quarter to get a cart and then you get the quarter back when you bring the cart back to the stack of them. This is easy and since the store and parking lot are pretty small – no big deal.

You must also remember to bring your own bags or you have to buy some.

Aldi has regular prices on nuts and dried fruit. Stay away from the cookies, crackers, sugary cereal, and potato chips!

The produce area doesn’t have everything that a regular grocery store has in stock. But, there are some DEALS on fresh produce. Aldi, like Costco has excellent prices on produce. Unlike Costco, you don’t have to buy enough to feed a small town when you shop there. I saw my local food bank buying bags and bags of navel oranges for their kitchen. At Aldi, the produce is $1 or $2 less per item than a regular grocery store – it can really add up.

Aldi even has organic produce! Again, these greens cost significantly less than my regular store. Whenever I shop there, I save $10-$20 on my groceries but what they have is limited and I end up shopping at another store (which is a pain).

They have meats (fresh, boneless, skinless chicken breast was $1.69 per pound), cheeses, milk, eggs, and bread.

There is also a bunch of random stuff. For example this:

An adult coloring book! Just what I needed! Or this:

I don’t know what a spin mop is but I may need this as well.

Overall, I have found the quality of the food to be good and the prices at Aldi significantly less than other stores. But, if you are like me, and looking for specific items, Aldi is limited.

I recommend it for those of you trying to eat healthy on a budget. There is some good stuff at Aldi!

Do you like Aldi? What have you found there?

Make Eating Well Fun and Easy! Subscribe

First 20 Comments: [ see all 63 ]

I too have a very similar opinion of Aldi's. I do like the produce though the same stuff is not always there. The nuts are a very good buy. Overall I do shop at Aldi's often, maybe not every week.

on February 20, 2018

Love their fair trade coffee for less then 5 bucks. Mine doesn't have a very large produce, which not sure if they are all like that. I also thought that they would have more organic as the advertising seems to suggest. Overall I do like the prices and a lot of the items.

on February 20, 2018

After we retired we began to buy a few things at Aldi. Soon it was enough to use the local grocery store for the fill in items or the sale items. Aldi or Save A Lot for us is always the midweek run for something we ran out of. We have the time to shop 2 or 3 stores since they are relitively close.
I feel we save money buying items on sale and adjusting our menu.

on February 20, 2018

Love our Aldi for the convenience. I can actually walk to it if need be. I am there usually once a week for something. They do carry the bread I use for weight watchers. It is the same 647 bread sold in the big stores but under the Aldi brand art a savings of at least $2.00. So I am very pleased with Aldi even though my main shopping is at Shop Rite.

on February 20, 2018

I shop there rather infrequently (a bit of a hassle locationwise) but have been known to make a special trip there because of great prices on eggs and produce. What actually prompted this response was the comment on “spin mop”. I have a spin mop (different brand) and I LOVE it! Never would have thought I’d be so excited about a mop (since housekeeping isn’t high on my priority list) but it’s right up there with my Scrub Daddy (another personal fave). Like I said, not exactly a merry maid but these 2 items DO make my life easier. Just a personal (unpaid😉) endorsement.

on February 20, 2018

I love Aldis. And the spin mop is a great product . I have bought 2.Good prices on everything especially fresh vegetables and fruits. Seems sometimes they don't last as long as what I buy at local store but if you use them in a reasonable amount of time it is a bargain.

on February 20, 2018

I have really found some bargains there and frequently save on holiday baking items. I also got an $8 small high quality area rug once. I got a $10 pair of summer slip on canvas shoes once that I still wear. Unfortunately, like others have noted, you can't depend on finding certain items again. It is sort of hit or miss but I steal go at least once a month.

on February 20, 2018

I shop at Aldis all the time, more so when it was right around the corner. Now I have to make a special trip there, but I still do. As mentioned, their produce prices are very reasonable. Their frozen veggies are fantastic and beats the Shop Rite brand by a mile. They also have jumbo frozen shrimp that surpasses any other brand I've tried and the price is very low. Cheeses, dairy, etc. all very good quality. I do think they are devoting too much space to non-food items these days considering the store is small, but that doesn't mean I still don't look at it and have been known to buy some of it. Maybe a spin mop is next!

on February 20, 2018

I love Aldis. I live in an area where there are several of them. Each store is a little different in what they sell and their sale prices. I also buy the bread that you can eat on WW. Sometimes they will have it on sale for 99 cents. Can beat that. All in all it is a great store to shop at and not so over whelming with too many choices to pick from.

on February 20, 2018

Thanks for the information. I’ve never been in an Aldi since it’s not convenient for me but I have rode by and wondered. Now I know I will need a quarter if I use a cart and I need my own bag.

on February 20, 2018

Aldi is my regular grocery. Since it came to town, I've cut $200 from my monthly grocery budget. As a lifetime Weight Watchers member, I find it provides just about everything I need to stay, successfully, on program. I've been noticing how Aldi is becoming more and more organic and gluten-free. And I thoroughly enjoy Aldi-Mart. You never know what might be available from a laminator to tools to pajamas. Love my Aldi!

on February 20, 2018

I love Aldi! I usually start my shopping there then go to the regular grocery store to pick up what I couldn't get at Aldi. I live in a small town and the two stores are literally across the street from each other so it's not as big a pain to do this as it might be for others.

on February 20, 2018

We've had an Aldi's for years and recently it closed for remodel. Much better selection than before but I noticed prices did go up some but still can be a better buy than Wal-Mart or Kroger. Overall love the store and I've not purchased anything that I didn't like.

on February 20, 2018

In the UK our Aldis are just part of the fabric. You know Trader Joes is an Aldi brand, right? It’s owned by Aldi.

on February 20, 2018

I shop Aldi weekly. As you get used to the store, you find the items you will use & enjoy. I love their chopped salads, red pepper hummus, Greek yogurt & chicken fingers are always a hit with my kids. Milk, eggs, chicken & canned items are SO much cheaper than a regular store. I do still make a trip to the grocery store for the things Aldi doesn’t carry, but it’s always my first stop for the savings. Just yesterday I picked up corn tortillas for less than $2 - when Cub Foods had them at $9. Aldi now carries LaCroix sparkling water which I love. On a side note, they have the BEST kitty litter I’ve tried, & with 2 cats - we’ve tried MANY brands. This one is half the price & works great!

on February 20, 2018

Aldi's USA started and still are in Germany, where I've read much good things about recycling, elimination of packaging materials and elimination of food waste. They seem to have priorities that make sense. They own Trader Joe's so we may see similar positives in how our grocery experience changes in the future. I make a special trip [20min-trip] to save on nut milks, fruit and fresh vegetables. Between Aldi's and my favorite little local health food store, the big super market is now the occasional market for me and fading fast. I spend [and save] my dollars like a vote for change whenever possible. I'm so happy there's an Aldi's in CT not too far away! Thanks for the Aldi post!

on February 20, 2018

I love Aldi..
Prices are great and lots of gluten free options. Produce is great..
Give it a try folks..

on February 20, 2018

We do not have one in our town. When we get there we buy chickpeas, kidney beans,black beans, fire roasted tomatoes etc. by the cases. Also almond milk and vegan meatballs are priced great. Love Aldi's

on February 20, 2018

We love Aldi! Milk, eggs, and produce are so much cheaper than regular stores. We also buy frozen foods, cheese, snack products, and baking products. I’ve also heard their Winking Owl wine is good and cheap, although not every store sells alcohol.

on February 20, 2018

Love Aldi’s! Shop there first every time! Fun finds, always something you weren’t expecting. In order to save, I can adjust my menu to what’s available. Always have fresh meat and with produce or anything else, they will take returns, no questions asked!

on February 20, 2018

See all 63 Comments

Add a comment:


(required, never published)


Hi, I'm Snack Girl and my website is devoted to making eating well fun. I create recipes, review food, and talk a lot about how to best journey down the healthy road.


100+ Healthy Snack Ideas

© 2018