Menu

Built Bar Review - Do They Deserve the Hype?

January 4, 2020   123 Comments

This Built Bar review was inspired by a bunch of comments on a previous post and is my personal (non-sponsored) opinion of these bars.

Built Bar Review -- Do They Deserve the Hype?

I wrote What Are the Best Protein Bars for Weight Loss? based on all the bars that looked good at my local Whole Foods.

I was looking for bars that tasted good, had a high amount of protein, and weren’t high in calories. Last month, I took a look at Quest Bars here: Quest Bars Review. There are so many protein bars! Honestly, I don't know how anyone can choose. They take up an entire side of an aisle at my supermarket.

When you take a look inside the protein bar, you usually find a ton of sugar to make them taste really good. They can easily end up in the "treat" end of the spectrum when you are looking for a simple, protein packed snack. Many people are looking for something healthier than a cookie when they buy these bars - and sometimes the bar has more sugar than a cookie.

It is incredibly difficult to find a protein bar that tastes good and isn't packed with sugar. I have been looking for a long, long time.

I must say I had never heard of Built protein bars until Helene wrote this on my protein bar post:

Built Bars are only 3 points for the whole bar, not that I would eat it at once. I purchased the Double Chocolate Mousse, Chocolate Raspberry Creme, and the Chocolate Strawberry Creme. They have a marshmallowy consistency when you bite into them - delicious. I've also tried cutting them up into 6 pieces and putting them into the freezer. Feels like a little treat to grab a piece.

How could I not try them? Marshmallow? Treat? In a protein bar? Could these replace my favorite chocolate dessert? I decided to go out and buy my own box to see what all the hype was about. I was pretty excited when my box arrived.

The only way to buy them is online at Built Bar and that is probably why I hadn’t seen them at the store. Duh. You have to commit to a whole box to try them out.

You can buy a mixed box of them (which I would recommend) - 18 for $37 (free shipping). At the end of ths post is a coupon for $10 off your first purchase (for new customers) and 15% off repeat purchases.

These are very different from most of my previous forays into the protein bar world. Here are the nutritional facts for one bar:

110 calories, 4.0 g fat, 2.5 g saturated fat, 13 g carbohydrates, 4 g sugar, 15 g protein, 6 g fiber, 3 mg sodium, 3 Purple, 3 Green, 3 Blue SmartPts

The nutritional profile of the bar is great because it doesn't have much added sugar.

Here are the ingredients: protein mix (whey protein isolate (milk), partially hydrolyzed whey protein isolate, gelatin, dark chocolate (chocolate liquor, sugar, cocoa butter, lechithin, vanillin), water, erythritol, glycerin, maltodextrin, natural flavor, citric acid

Somehow the makers of Built Bar made a product that reminds me of a 3 Musketeers bar but it doesn’t have sugar or fat. The texture is like a marshmallow and it is wrapped in chocolate.

The chocolate actually tastes like chocolate - no small feat in the protein bar world.

I tried all of the flavors - the chocolate mousse (photo above) and the raspberry chocolate creme. I liked the raspberry flavor better. I don’t like mint and chocolate so I knew I wasn’t going to like the mint brownie delite which tasted like toothpaste. I would say the chocolate featured flavors are the most delicious flavors of Built bar.

Here is my ranking of best to worst for the original Built bars that I tried:
1. Double Chocolate Mousse
2. Raspberry Chocolate Creme
3. Orange Chocolate Creme
4. Vanilla Chocolate Creme
5. Black Cherry Chocolate Creme
6. Coconut Chocolate Creme
7. Banana Chocolate Creme
8. Salted Caramel Chocolate
9. Mint Brownie Delite (yuck!)

Since I ordered these Built bars there are flavors with nuts and you have to be careful because they are 4 points instead of three. These flavors are Peanut Butter, Coconut Almond, Banana Nut Bread, Peanut Butter Brownie, and Toffee Almond.

What can I say? I think these are better cold but they taste pretty good for what the ingredients might indicate. Initially, I thought they would taste like a science experiment but they remind me of a candy bar. They stick to your teeth a bit (like a Three Muskateers). I am actually surprised about how much these tasted like a childhood treat.

As an adult, my treats have gotten more sophisticated (think dark chocolate squares) so these don't hit my happy spot but I can see how people would love these.

You might even feel like you are cheating on your diet!

I have a small reaction to erthritol (tummy trouble) that I did not get with these bars probably because they don’t use that much of it. I would not eat two in a day just to be on the safe side.

Overall, I think these are a good choice especially if you are a candy lover and want to wean yourself off of it. I like the idea of slicing these bars into pieces and having a chunk when you are craving something sweet. That way, you don’t eat too much of it at once and you save yourself some money.

Some people absolutely love these and can't get enough. I definitely see the appeal because so many of us are desperate to stop eating sugary treats. If Built bar stops you from eating candy, cookies, or chocolate - why not get them? I would hope that they would be a stepping stone to a less processed option.

I wouldn't stuff these into my bag on a hot day because they would melt. In fact in some parts of the country, Built bars cannot be left on your doorstep because they would be a sodden mess when you got home. You need to keep these at room temperature or colder.

Do I think these are the best choice or a healthy choice? Because they are filled with processed ingredients instead of fresh, healthy food - I would not call them healthy.

For a healthy snack, I would eat unprocessed food (like an apple with peanut butter) when you can. But, I would stash one of these in my purse for those long days when I can’t bring along something fresh.

Built Bar is donating 100% of their profits to help end poverty and racism for 8 million Built Bars.

Click here Built Bars and it will automatically give you the discounts at checkout:
15% off one box
30% off two or three boxes
50% off four more more boxes

Snack Girl is a professional review site that receives compensation for some products that we review. We are independently owned and opinions expressed are own own. We do have an affiliate relationship with Built Bar and receive a small portion of sales.

Have you tried Built Bars? What is your review?

Other posts you might like:


What are the Best Protein Bars for Weight Loss?

What are the Best Protein Bars for Weight Loss?

What are the best protein bars for weight loss? I can tell you that there are a TON of options.....


Quest Bar Review

Quest Bar Review - Are These a Good Choice?

This Quest Bar review continues my quest for the perfect protein bar. The short version of this post is that my journey continues......



Get Free Email Updates! Yes please!


123 Comments:

I absolutely LOVE these bars. Coconut is my favorite. My husband likes the salted caramel. It's a great bang for your 3 WW points buck!

on April 9, 2019

I had never heard of the Built bars until your protein bar review. I love the Built bars! The coconut is my favorite. The consistency reminds me of a cream filled Easter egg. And unlike other bars, I don’t get the digestive issues that I do with most bars. I’m on my 2nd full order. I just wish they were available in the stores. Thanks snack girl for your product reviews!

on April 9, 2019

I’m that rare bird that doesn’t fancy them. One bite, and I taste chemicals. I have 2 boxes gathering dust in my kitchen. I would rather have an apple with peanut butter.

on April 9, 2019

I want to try these, but unfortunately, they aren't vegetarian-friendly. They look and sound so good!

on April 9, 2019

$2.00 is too much for a protein bar.

on April 9, 2019

I really wanted to like these after hearing how wonderful they are. After all they look so good and they are low in points... I’m sorry to say that I found them to be disgusting! I thought maybe it was just the first bite so I took another bite and proceeded to throw the rest of the bar away...Now I have almost a whole box that I paid good money for!

on April 9, 2019

Have to add my two cents worth. I love the flavor of the bars (I also tried the mixed selection) but I can’t get past the consistency. I tried them cut into pieces and frozen- dangerous for me with crowns and fillings; I ended up trying to let them melt in my mouth. That’s impossible, they are too gelatinous. As much as I like the flavor, i won’t order them again due to the consistency.

on April 9, 2019

I actually do love mint and chocolate together, (Andes mints and York peppmint patties are some of my faves!) and I found some Special K protein bars at Walmart in the granola bar area and they are a new fave! They have that same fluffy inside consistency you’re talking about. I grab those as a treat instead of a candy bar to satisfy my sweet tooth. They’re not overly sweet, either. Think Andes mint with about 1/3 less sweetness in a candy bar format. Insides are like a 3 Musketeers bar. $5.50 for a box of 5. Only 8g of protein but works great for a snack. They’re on the bottom shelf at my Walmart so you may have to hunt if you want to try them!

on April 9, 2019

Thanks to everyone for sharing their perspective. I did not find the consistency off-putting but I can see how one would. These are a love them or hate them kinda product.

on April 9, 2019

I hated them.

on April 9, 2019

I bought both the sample and a box of assorted. Some flavors I like and some not so much. Haven't tried them frozen yet. Expensive, but worth it when I'm working WW seriously. Erythritol is one of the few artificial sweeteners I can eat without digestive problems, but probably only 1 bar per day.

on April 9, 2019

I really love these bars. I especially love the Chocolate Moose and my second favorite choice is salted caramel. It's hard for me to believe that there are only three points. I usually eat a half at one sitting to help me ward off my cravings. I did not care for the lemon, raspberry, or chocolate mint. I highly recommend you giving them a shot.

on April 9, 2019

I really love these bars. I especially love the Chocolate Mousse and my second favorite choice is salted caramel. It's hard for me to believe that there are only three points. I usually eat a half at one sitting to help me ward off my cravings. I recently brought them with me for a trip to Russia and Israel and they were perfect, anytime I was hungry I would eat a half and it would really keep me full for like an hour. I did not care for the lemon, raspberry, or chocolate mint. I highly recommend you giving them a shot. By the way they are covered with real dark chocolate.

on April 9, 2019

Ugh erthritol. My body can't handle it at ALL. i think it's really dangerous, especially for people who have problems with food (as in, tendency to over-eat). It can make you REALLY ill. I'll pass on this, thanks!

on April 9, 2019

I bought the sample box and cut them into bite size pieces for my family to try. Unfortunately not 1 of the 4 of us really liked any of them. I didn't like them at all.

on April 9, 2019

Our favorite real food protein bars are SO EASY!!! 1 cup real peanut butter, 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1/2 cup flaxseed meal, 1/4 cup honey, dash of cinnamon and salt. I add 1/2 cup mix-ins like chopped dark chocolate or dried fruit. Press into 8x8 square pan and refrigerate before cutting into bars. So easy, delicious, and it's real food!

on April 9, 2019

There are oodles of DIY protein bar recipes -- and you control the ingredients (e.g. real food). For example, a link to 11 recipes: https://dailyburn.com/life/recipes/homemade-protein-bar-rec…

Link to 15 DIY "Larabar" recipes: https://mywholefoodlife.com/2015/06/22/15-diy-larabar-recip…

Personally, I got burned out on protein bars years ago and prefer eating a banana with some nut butter, or cottage cheese with berries, or wilted greens with veggies and legumes in a chicken or veggie broth. Cheers!

on April 9, 2019

Snack Girl, I'm glad you gave them a shot. I agree with Dawn and Jessica, nothing can replace "real food" as a snack; however, there are times when you just can't carry/travel with fresh food. I don't believe in using processed food/protein bars as meal replacements, but in a pinch, I find a bite or two of the Built bar to be a great alternative - and it has a lot less calories than nuts which I love, but tend to overeat.

on April 9, 2019

I ordered these right away, and tried the chocolate moose (I love dark chocolate). I had put in the freezer for a couple of hours. I found it so delicious, and the texture was similar to the soy or cashew milk ice cream bar I would have had as part of my usual evening snack. I ate 1/2 of a bar and was satisfied. I'm going to try them all in the sample, then order my favorites. I am usually sensitive to sorbitol (gassy, bloating, etc...), but the erthritol didn't seem to bother me. Maybe because of only eating 1/2 a bar.

on April 12, 2019

I ordered the sample box. LOVED these! Especially the chocolate mousse and the vanilla.

on April 12, 2019

Funny how these are so divisive. I love them and so does my 14 year old daughter. Coconut, Salted Caramel, Raspberry and Chocolate are our faves. Pretty much all protein bars are almost $2 in So Cal so the price wasn't any different to me.

on April 17, 2019

Ok since this article is about snacky type treats, I gotta put my 2 cents in. Now these bars are like 5 to 6 pts each BUT I'm tellin ya, they are to die for! They are called Clio bars. They are chocolate wrapped in greek yogurt. I found blueberry, strawberry, hazelnut and vanilla at my local WalMart in the refrigerated section with yogurt, sour cream, etc. They were $1 each and the bar could actually be a meal replacement. They fill the bill for me!

on April 18, 2019

I really love these bars. I have issues with nuts and seeds, so these were a great find for me. They are so good that I'm worried that their nutrition label might not be entirely accurate. The chocolate mint, which usually is one of my favorites, really does taste like toothpaste, but otherwise I enjoy all the flavors. Does anybody know if these contain complete proteins?

on April 23, 2019

I work out 6 days a week, Interval type WOD work outs, incorporating heavy weight lifting with cardio. This is a lifestyle incorporated with healthy eating choices but balance is important. I have tried every bar I feel like on the market, some better than others. Now, keep in mind my, I’m a huge marshmallow, Carmel type treat eater to begin with, this bar is a game changer!!!!!!! I like one of the above posts and agree fresh and organic all the way!! Apple, almond butter, all that BUT a protein bar Hugh in fiber and low calorie and low carb!!! I’m your girl! With trying!!!!!

on May 6, 2019

I like these a lot. Some flavors more than other...salted carmel - yum. Banana - yum, raspberry - yum. Strawberry - ick, mint- meh, chocolate - good, Lemon - not sure.

I like the consistency and flavor! Especially from the freezer.

on May 9, 2019

Love Built Bars...low calorie and taste great. A game changer for anyone trying to lose weight. They're a little pricy but they have free shipping, multi box discounts and great incentive program. My favorite was the recent limited release of banana.

on May 12, 2019

I love built bars especially the banana. I hope they start making these always. I like a snack at night and these built bars do it for me.

on May 18, 2019

Just tried my first Built Bar (lemon) and I’m not a fan. The consistency is weird. My bigger issue is the apparent caffeine content. I’m very sensitive to caffeine and just half a bar made my heart race! I know have 2 boxes I can’t eat😰

on May 24, 2019

I love love love my Built bars.i ordered a mixed box and a vanilla cream box the first time. My favorite are the vanilla cream and the raspberry. I like the double chocolate but I feel like it’s too rich. I didn’t like the salted caramel. I recently saw they had a promotion for banana flavor and I ordered those and really like them too. I am now waiting on a new promotional box of mocha flavor. I recently saw they had a promotion for banana flavor and I ordered those and really like them too. I am now waiting on a new promotional box of mocha flavor

The only problem that I’ve had is that occasionally a few seem to arrive a little melted or moldy when they get to my house and I think that’s just because they don’t have a whole lot of preservatives in them .

My 10-year-old son has eaten a muffin every morning for breakfast before school for the last five years and I could never get him to eat anything that has protein in it. Recently we were out of muffins so I gave him one of the bars and that was it. It has changed his life. It’s a bar before school every day now and even though it looks like candy, he is actually getting a lot more protein and a lot less sugar than he did with his usual muffin.

on May 24, 2019

Interested in the built protein bar

on May 29, 2019

Love them too. Never want more than one and usually can eat a half through the day. They aren’t cheap but there are discounts to be had and rewards you can earn with the company! Shipping is free and fairly quick. I’ve never found anything worth 3 Weight Watchers points that is that delicious. They can keep their measly 2 point bars. Definitely satisfies the chocolate craving. I love PB and such but not on the Smartpoints plan, the sugar and fat shoots us in the foot! I use Splenda and saccharin and hate stevia. I will leave my body to science when I die to see what it did to me! Thanks for reviewing this!

on May 31, 2019

My favorite bars, by far. I did take the advise to try them frozen. I think I should have cut them first. As they shrunk to 1/3 of their normal size. I have now tossed one from the freezer into the fridge to see if it expands.

on June 4, 2019

I wonder if people are getting paid to promote these? In a couple of my Facebook groups, people are promoting these like crazy. They’re good, but they’re not that good. The chocolate one made me gag. Coconut is satisfactory. The way people are raving over these, it reminds me of the scripted beach body/plexus/it works spiel.

on June 5, 2019

I bought Built Bars after my WW meeting members were raving about them. I bought Salted Caramel, Coconut, Double Chocolate and Mocha. Then they sent 6 free Cinnamon. The consistency to me is like soft caramel and the flavors are pretty intense. So I liked the caramel, coconut, and mocha. The double chocolate was a bit too chocolatey for my tastes. And the cinnamon burned my tongue and will be taking them to my WW meeting to for others to try the cinnamon if they want to risk it *grin*. They are expensive but I think my meeting leader takes orders so she gets a quantity discount.

on June 5, 2019

The first one I tried was ok, the consistency was just a bit off-putting. Then I put the second in the fridge and it was yummy. I like the cold texture better than room temp.

on June 17, 2019

Why can’t these be purchased in any stores?

on June 19, 2019

I recently bought my first sampler box of Built Bars. I haven't tried all the flavors yet but I like the mint and the coconut. I didn't care for the taste when I tried them right out of the box, but once I refrigerated them I liked them better. I also tried freezing them but they got too hard, so I recommend the fridge. Not my favorite bar ever but it did really fill me up and it's only 3 points. I agree that often times a half bar is all you need.

on June 19, 2019

Omg, Thank you so much for your review on built bars. I got my first box and put them in the freezer as you suggested. I cut them into small bite-size pieces and it satisfied my urge for chocolate 100%. I love these bars

on June 25, 2019

I just placed my fourth order for the Built Bars. I started with the sample box in early April to make sure I would like them. This time, I ordered two boxes to take advantage of the extra bars they were offering; this is especially good when you want to sample a new flavor! I, obviously, love these bars! The variety of flavors has something for everyone, the real dark chocolate is a definite plus and the fact that this ample-sized bar is only 110 calories and gives you 15g of protein is amazing! If the ingredients bother some people, I understand that you would not favor these bars or maybe you don't like the conistency, but I do love them, especially cold (frozen is taking a chance with your teeth!) The fruity flavors are my favorite, and I will be anxious to try the new blueberry cheesecake. What a great addition to incorporte as a daily or every-other-day "fueling" or knowing this bar is only 3 WW points! I truly feel as though I am "cheating" when I have a Built Bar.

on July 1, 2019

I think these bars are fantastic! I just received my 4th order. They come in about a week. My favorite flavors are:orange, lemon, mint(tastes like a peppermint patty) and coconut (tastes like a mounds bar. If you place an order for any two boxes, they include 6 extra free bars.No shipping charge.

on July 6, 2019

Is this a protein bar that name builtbar has a good taste? I am thinking to try some of it. I hope it will satisfy my tast3!!!

on July 11, 2019

Id likes to taste it then. something more healthy than a chocolate bar. a protein in bar is it?

on July 11, 2019

I love Built bars. Coconut is my favorite! Especially frozen! They get so chewy when eaten cold. Do you know about the discount code that helps fight cancer? When you order/reorder, use code BIGCLIMB2019 for a 10% discount, free shipping and any current promotions too. Each time it is used, Built will donate $2 to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

on July 11, 2019

I've tried the sample and have gotten the trial of cinnamon, which I liked. Some of the flavors I wasn't fond of (raspberry, lemon, mint). I don't "love" the bars, which is good so I don't eat too many. I have had problems with artificial sweeteners, but not erythritol. Nice to have on hand for an emergency snack or candy when seriously working WW. Never found a DIY bar recipe that was low enough in calories/points to substitute. Love that it is high in protein as this is a problem area for me.

on July 11, 2019

I want to hear more on mint chocolate creme. feels like I'm on swimming on north pole eating chocolate. yikes!

on July 13, 2019

I'm interested in the post by Cheri where she said they contain caffeine and made her heart race. I'm also sensitive to caffeine but the nutrition facts from the website don't mention them containing any. They're chocolate covered so I'm assuming there's at least a small amount of caffeine in them. Does anyone have any info on this aspect?

on July 17, 2019

Wish I had read the reviews before buying a sample box. I've eaten two bars and they are terrible. They are a mouthful of slightly bitter chemicals. The consistency isn't good - hard to effectively chew the gooey insides. The chocolate on the outside is very, very thin so you don't experience much of it's flavor. Very disappointed.

on July 19, 2019

I am so happy to have found Built Bars (recommended by a niece on WW as I am). My favorite is the coconut creme and I've ordered them several times already. I always order two boxes and that usually means extra bars for free(on special deal). They fill my need for something sweet and with a glass of water, fill me up for several hours. Reminds me of chocolate covered marshmallow from childhood!

on July 27, 2019

I’ve tried pretty much all of them. This is a company that keeps on giving. I’ve gotten quite a few free samples plus their customer service is outstanding. Within 20 min of sending an email due to a problem with the delivery or wrong flavor sent, they immediately issued a new box to be sent out. My favorites are chocolate, banana, blueberry cheesecake and mint brownie ( think Girl Scouts thin mints, much better than the regular mint chocolate). Frozen is the way I prefer them.

on July 29, 2019

I LOVE THEM!! However a warning to everyone that I’d you have trouble resisting yummy, be careful how many you eat in one day. I was having a bad day and before I knew it, I’d eaten four in one day. I texted the company and asked if I needed to beware of any tummy issues because I overate. They said they actually recommend two a day, but that any number you want to eat should be fine. WRONG, for me anyway. I haven’t been able to leave the house all day today, the day after I did this, because I needed a bathroom nearby. From now on, I’ll have more normal bad day snacks on hand, like pretzels and grapes. I’m a Weight Watcher member as you might have been able to tell. I think these are worth the money, although they are expensive. They send them with a freezer ice pack and have outstanding communication with their customers. Hope they’re in stores soon, which would cut down in the cost because of shipping. However, there are always coupon codes online you can use and if you order two boxes, you usually get six free. Chocolate mousse, salted caramel and kind of vanilla are my favorites. Try them for sure!!!!!! Yummy!😋

on July 31, 2019

These are terrible! Chocolate on them has a bitter taste. I'm kicking myself for not returning them. Due to medical issues, I missed the return date.

on August 4, 2019

I love them...my ultra picky friend loves them!!!! I am so happy that I found these!!! I will continue to buy these...I wish they had more flavors, but I think they are great.

on August 6, 2019

They do have more flavors....6 new ones!

on August 7, 2019

I wanted to love these, since most people seem to, according to loads of reviews including WW members, but the consistency is off putting to me. I keep these in the refrigerator, and the texture is thick overly chewyness. Thankfully I have strong teeth. I do love the flavors (especially like be the coconut and chocolate mousse), but it’s the texture that gets me. I like the fact they are only 3 WW smartpoints though, I just haven’t decided if I’ll be ordering more when I run out. I see they now also have Built Burner bars, which have less sugar, more fiber, but contain an equivalent to 3/4 cup of coffee worth of caffeine.

on August 8, 2019

I ordered the mixed bars and received them today. I put them in the freezer for a few hours then tried them for the first time, I found them to be absolutely disgusting!! It tasted like rubber!!! I will never order these again I was very dissatisfied! It was very expensive and not worth my money definitely a waste of money!!

on August 8, 2019

Disgusting. I bought a box of 36 based on. WW blogger. I’m guessing she was a paid sponsor. Tried freezing, tried cold, inedible. Not worth the money. Took them to the office, where EVERYTHING gets eaten, lots of one bite bars, the rest trashed.

on August 9, 2019

Unfortunately I do love them!!! I just got a sample of the mango ones and they are delicious. I also cut it into 4 or 5 chunks to spread it out over the day

on August 12, 2019

First of all, I'm just some girl from the Ozarks. I definitely don't get paid to write anything. I saw an article that these were just 3 points, and they were good. I thought why not and went to the site to buy some. They were having a big promotion if you bought loads of them so I decided to take a chance. I love candy and I really like these. So far only my box of Apple Pie bars came. I was surprised to see they were covered in chocolate... but I love chocolate. Tried them and I really like them. They are extremely sweet though and I have a major sweet tooth. I got the built burner bars with the built on fat burner and appetite suppressant. I am looking forward to getting the rest of my order tomorrow. Oh, and I am very sensitive to sugar alcohol but these didn't bother me in the least.

on August 14, 2019

Bought a sample pack, and really really disliked them. The consistency was very gooey(even after keeping them in the fridge) and it felt like I ate a spoonful of petroleum jelly. I really don't understand how people love them so much.

on August 17, 2019

I bought the sample box, so far I have tried the coconut and although I love coconut, I didn't like it. I also had a small piece of the salted caramel. I didn't like it either. guess I'm one of the few that will be letting the rest of the box collect dust. I find the dark chocolate very overpowering. I know its good for you but it's not my favorite. I may try other flavors in the box but I will not be reordering.

on August 19, 2019

These are amazing! The flavors are delicious and I am dropping wait like crazy! I haven’t found a flavor that I don’t like yet but I do have my favorites. I just ordered 12 boxes because my husband and I each eat two a day. We have no more cravings for sweet stuff and it helps us control the amount of calories we take in each day. I am so very grateful for these bars! I have 7 pounds in 21 days!!

on August 23, 2019

Best 3SP snack ever! The protein keeps me going strong and the chocolate makes me smile! Built Bar will donate $5 to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society for each NEW customer that uses the 10% discount code. Shipping is always free!

on September 11, 2019

The customer service was terrible. I give it a 0 out of 5. Taste was awful and a waste of money. I won't be ordering from them anymore.

on September 12, 2019

Really hated them at first, especially the mocha flavor. Couldn’t spit it out fast enough. The company was good though - they don’t take returns but will refund you the money. So I did keep the rest of the mocha bar and one banana and one vanilla and put them in the freezer. I took the rest to work where they promptly disappeared. I tried the bars frozen and still hate the mocha flavor but the vanilla and banana are okay frozen, taste-wise (but consistency is still hard to eat). If you still want to try them, I would definitely recommend freezing them first and cutting them into slices.

on September 15, 2019

I like protein chocolate bar because chocolate provide different flavors,fat free,built in with protein so what u want. My favorite flavors is coconut,chocolate,oranges.I also want to taste mint flavor chocolate.

on September 17, 2019

These are literally one of the most disgusting things I have ever eaten. I know people have different tastes but I can’t wrap my head around anyone actually liking these.

on September 27, 2019

The consistency is much better cold, not frozen. Makes the filling chewy. I like the fruit flavors best.

on September 28, 2019

I absolutely love these bars. I just ordered my third box. The chocolate, vanilla and coconut are my favorite, and I just ordered the peanut butter. I'm surprised so many people didn't like them, because I feel like I'm cheating and eating a candy bar. I think they're delicious.

on October 15, 2019

salted caramel and chocolate mousse are DELICIOUS. The other favors are weird. (I haven't tried the peanut butter flavor yet because it's 170 calories instead

of 110 cal.)

on October 19, 2019

I love these bars. They have a smooth texture and aren't like some of the gritty protein bars out there. The outer chocolate has a great taste. The coconut are one of my favorites as I feel like they taste like a MOUNDS bar. They now have coconut and almond that I would love to try next. I am slowly trying all the flavors, but haven't found one I don't like yet.

on October 24, 2019

I’ve tried the coconut almond built bar today. It was delicious. I would suggest buying flavors that you enjoy most. The coconut almond is like eating an almond joy bar. The bar has bits of coconut and almond inside. Simply perfect.

on October 25, 2019

Their net carb counts are wrong at least with the latest coconut almond.. its supposedly only 3 net carbs... they said they would bring it up to upper management.. I question the validity of all their net carb counts and only hope they are correct as I like to be strict with carbs.. these things are delicious though... they aren't great with their nutrition panel and sugar alcohol content amounts.

on November 3, 2019

I LOVE these. Coconut is my favorite. If you eat them straight from the fridge they remind me of the Samoa Girl Scout cookies. Also.. if you dont like marshmallow texture then put them in the fridge they are chewy instead of gooey and last longer bc you chew a little more. Sooo yummy.

on November 30, 2019

Can you tell me where I have to go to order the packages for the drinks so I can get $10 off

on December 1, 2019

I'm on WW so tried, as I have a sweet tooth and they were recommended by my sis who has had great success on WW. I think these are fantastic! Cannot compare them to other protein bars, as these to me substitute for an indulgence of chocolate. I ordered the 3 choice and selected Black Cherry, Orange and Banana. Orange and Banana were my favs tho Black Cherry was good too. I, too, cannot eat a bar in one sitting but choose to cut in to pieces to enjoy whenever I feel like a treat throughout the day. Will be ordering another box of 3 choices, trying other flavors. This is THE best substitute for a holiday See's candy binge I have found. BIG FAN!!

on December 2, 2019

Wondering if the sugar (erithrytol sp?) is organic or if it comes from GMO corn..it doesn't say on their page.

on December 31, 2019

I have tried nearly all of the Built Bar flavors, and they are delicious! My favorites are Coconut Almond, Chocolate Cherry, Salted Caramel, Mint Brownie, and Chocolate Banana. They curb my cravings for sugar, give me energy, fill me up, and help to keep my glucose levels down. Some do not care for the consistency. That's definitely a matter of taste. I do not care for the crunchy or crispy protein bars, that are in the stores, so these are perfect for me. Some have complained about the cost. I don't think $2 or less (with each additional box you buy) is really that expensive. Free shipping also keeps the cost down. For those who are insinuating that people are being paid to review, just because you don't care for them....you are wrong to share such slanderous comments. I was told about these by a friend, and every friend I've told about these LOVE them. Just because you don't care for them does not make everyone who likes them a liar. Just a thought. :) The sample box is the way to go, if you want to check them out. After that, I bought 2 of the "3 different flavors" boxes to check out the other flavors. By then, I had decided my favorites & just order those now. Sometimes they send coupons, and sometimes they have extea sales that they email you about. This also helps cut down in the cost. They are definitely worth a try if you have sweets cravings & are trying to get off of sugar, OR if you have type 2 diabetes & HAVE to get off sugar.

on January 2, 2020

I heard about these first from you, Snack Girl, and then in my WW studio. Someone was going to order one flavor and we were all going to have a swap for our our faves. I wanted in on this, but was disappointed that they all were coated in chocolate. I happen to dislike chocolate. I know - I'm weird. Until I saw they had Pumpkin Pie flavor during the holidays. I bought a box for myself and kept them all. Pumpkin - yum. They were good, even with the chocolate coating. Really tasted like pumpkin pie. I may buy them again, depending on the flavor. For a bar, it is pretty good. I have been looking to move over to real foods myself. Like someone said, during traveling when you don't have everything available. But I have to give it a thumbs up for WWP and for flavor. Thanks, Snack Girl, for the review.

on January 5, 2020

I just saw this article today but do not the the 6 bar sample pack on their website.

on January 5, 2020

I like them and have been eating them for my "chocolate allowed snack" once a day. They satisfy that craving and I just ordered 2 boxes and also a jar of the bites. I like the amounts of protein and fiber in them and 3 points on WW. Yes the real thing would be best but....

on January 5, 2020

I have been using Built Bars as an alternative to ice cream and other treats. I find that they keep me from craving sugar- binges have stopped. The real dark chocolate is just enough to satisfy my chocolate fix without causing craving for more. Berries taste good again- just enough sweetness now that I am not overdoing sugar.

on January 5, 2020

i wanted to love these but texture, smell and taste were somewhat off putting. i tasted two then gave away the rest of the box at my WW meeting.

on January 5, 2020

I have wanted to try these ever since I saw a review on them maybe a year ago or there about. I live in Texas, and most of the year it's hot. I would be coming home to a pool of goop in a box separated only by the wrappers. They say on the website to email them with any questions ... well tried twice with no response to either email so ... not looking good in my eyes but maybe I am the exception to the rule person that someone dropped the ball on. Anyway, they sound good and maybe some day they will carry them in stores so I can try them.

on January 5, 2020

@Karen - Thank you! They changed it to 10 bars for $21. Big difference! The shipping is free but it is still a commitment.

on January 5, 2020

Funny, I remember posting back in April. I have since changed my mind- the coconut flavor is a game changer! The consistency is different from the fruit flavors, and I love it!

on January 5, 2020

I love, love, love these bars! I’ve been eating them for probably over a year now. I’ve been on WW (well this time around) sticking to it for almost three years and lifetime again and have maintained with the help of these suckers. Strawberry and Peanut Butter are my favorites. I actually have one for breakfast every morning with a light muscle milk and a banana. Keeps me satisfied for so long!!! Oh so yummy!!!!

on January 5, 2020

I wouldn't say I love Built Bars, but they are a good occasional meal or snack replacement for me and can satisfy a sweet craving. Love the amount of protein as this is an area I have problem with, getting enough protein daily since lap band surgery. The erthritol is one of the few artificial sweeteners that I can eat without causing upset. For me the AS I can use are Splenda and erthritol. However, I limit the quantity as I don't want problems down the road. I love better their new Built Bites, approximately a half size bar. One Built Bite is 1 point, two are 3 pts if eaten at the same meal on WW (e.g., 2 as a snack) or 2 pts if eaten at different meals (e.g., 1 lunch, 1 snack). The Bites currently only come in 2 flavors, German Chocolate Cake and Toffee Almond. I thought I would like the Toffee Almond best, but I like the GCC better. I didn't like the pumpkin pie or some of the fruit flavors as the flavoring was too intense and artificial tasting. Best way to try them is to get a sample box. I haven't tried them cold or frozen as I have a lot of crowns.

on January 5, 2020

I did try these and did not like them at all! Sorry! :(

on January 5, 2020

I love these bars but they came out with peanut butter and they are 4 points and it took me a while to realize it.

on January 5, 2020

My husband and I both tried these and although we really liked the flavors ( we tried several) and didn't have an issue with the texture, both my husband and I had tummy trouble with in a few bites,.. sadly enough we just can't eat them.

on January 5, 2020

I did try these and didn't like the taste or texture ended up giving them away.

on January 5, 2020

I love the double chocolate mousse bar. Salted caramel is okay. The calories and protein give you a lot of bang for your buck! I also occasionally cut up and freeze these. Completely recommend, and search for sales!

on January 5, 2020

I’ve been eating these for many months ... they keep me surprisingly full and satisfy my sweet tooth enough that I can take one to the movies, save money AND not feel deprived. I checked with the company before giving one to a diabetic friend and they are safe. I think they are expensive, but stocked up during their recent sale. If the sales price were the regular price, I’d keep buying them after my stash runs out.

on January 5, 2020

I got these as a gift for Christmas 3 came all moldy had to throw them out

They weren’t that great better a. Apple with little peanut butter

on January 5, 2020

I ADORE Built Bars. I love sweets and they are the first protein bar I found that didn't have a disgusting texture or aftertaste. I like them cold so they are always stored in my fridge. I don't eat them everyday but when they are on sale or I find a good coupon code I place an order because they are a bit expensive. Love the Salted Caramel and Double Fudge Mousse and Coconut bars. I give them a 5 out of 5 stars!!

on January 6, 2020

Unfortunately those aren't real food... If you're going to dish out money for a bar buy Larabars!!

on January 6, 2020

The 6 for $9.95 special showed up in my Facebook feed. I wasn’t able to get it from the Snack Girl link.

on January 7, 2020

I really like the flavor, but only eat straight out of freezer or refrigerator. Otherwise, I'm not a fan of the texture at room temperature.

on January 8, 2020

I love them!

on January 13, 2020

I just got a sample box to try these out , so far the coconut one is good , no after taste , kills my chocolate crave , looking forward to trying the rest

on January 15, 2020

I just placed an order for the sample box. Thank you for your review!

on January 24, 2020

@Snack Girl, from your expert opinion, would these be ok to consume while pregnant? I'm having trouble toning down the sweetness cravings and too much protein is making me nauseous. I love these bars in general but stopped eating them since finding out I was pregnant. I do have to watch my sugar intake. Any guidance is appreciated!

on February 6, 2020

@Snack girl- too much protein from whole food sources is making me nauseous. I am on my feet most days and need something quick that doesn't make a mess.

on February 6, 2020

As a person who is allergic to soy and coconut I couldn’t eat protein bars. Built Bars do NOT contain soy and taste wonderful. I love several but raspberry and orange are my favorite. Also when you purchase you earn points for your next purchases. Give them a try for a pleasant surprise

on February 16, 2020

I know some of the bars are more then 3 points. How can you see which ones are before you order them.

on February 23, 2020

@Deepika - I see no reason why these wouldn't be great for a pregnant woman. Thanks for the question.

@Trica - Built includes all of the nutritional information on the page with the flavors. You should be able to calculate the WW points from those pages. Thanks for asking!

on March 2, 2020

Hate them. I don’t like consistency at all. And the flavors all taste the same to me. They stick to my dentures so I can’t chew them without pulling my dentures out. And not happy with erthrytol.

I’ll stick to my Pure Protein bars. Waste of money since they are going right in the trash.

on March 13, 2020

I love the bars but very disappointed that I cannot use my reward points along with a discount code provided by Built Bar though email. There should be 2 boxes in checkout. One for discount code provided by Built Bar and one for your points

on March 31, 2020

I have already placed several orders for your protein bars. I am looking for a coupon before ordering my next box. Are coupons available? Thank you.

on April 5, 2020

I am fortunate to have a local store that sells them, and if you buy a 12 (a box-worth), you get 5% off. That way you can pick and choose your flavors. For some reason, my favorite is the Orange Chocolate Creme, and also like the Vanilla and Double Chocolate Mousse. I recently purchased a Mixed Box from Built Bars, as I am not going out much now with the "Stay at Home" request. They're great for a quick lunch or snack, and I love the taste!

on April 7, 2020

Protein bars that take work to eat.. I chewed and tongue pushed to only have this bar stuck on my teeth. How could you disregard this, Snack Girl?

on April 20, 2020

@Vince - I hear you. I did say they are like candy bars - which stick to your teeth. I am going to add this observation to my review. Thank you for your comment!

on May 1, 2020

I feel that these are overrated, and overhyped. They seem to be overhyped by people offering some kind of a discount code. Do they get some kind of perks if you use that code, perhaps? But I digress. They have a very gummy consistency, and they all seem to have the same odd taste. The macros are good, but for me, I’ll stick with another protein bar which better suits my palate.

on May 2, 2020

Fluffysquirel...I am wondering if you might like a different flavor. I love Built Bars! Especially cold from the freezer. The gooey texture turns chewy when eaten cold. There are many available discount codes. I suggest using the discount code BIGCLIMB2020 for $10 off for new customers and free shipping. Built will donate $15 to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society when they do! Win/Win!

on May 3, 2020

These taste awful. Tried 3 flavors and couldn't finish any of them.

on May 7, 2020

I think they are tasty for a protein bar, best I've tasted. Like a lot of high protein foods, they taste better after you get used to them, now I think they're delicious. 110 calories, 15 g protein, 13 g carbs for the original nut free bars. I like coconut, salty caramel, and raspberry. Choc mouse was OK too. I recommend getting a sample box because I really disliked some of the flavors that other people rave about. I don't like the mint, key lime, or smores at all. They do not have a marshmallow consistency, there's no airyness about them. They're very chewy and will stick to your teeth. I am worried about my fillings but I continue to buy them, and only if they are on sale or I can find a coupon code because they are expensive. They ship fast. FYI, for people who provide coupon codes, they will get a discount per box when you order with their code. I'm about to order over 100 bars just so I can get them at discount.

on May 18, 2020

I don't remember how I first found these. but I really like them. you can use https://www.joinhoney.com/ or Rakuten to save money

on June 8, 2020

I bought the box, hoping for so much more. ate half of one bar, trashed the rest. tried again in a few days a different flavour- too sweet and chemically. GROSS. have the rest of the box, but am waiting for bulk pickup to take them, as they aren;t really food, so not GREEN, and the aren't really garbage because of the chemicals, so maybe I'll have to drop them at the paint/battery depot. Who knows. Save your money!

on June 11, 2020

I love Built Bars. My favorite is the Mint Brownie and the Orange Cream.

on June 14, 2020

I really like built bars. I think they are a great afternoon snack to tie me over until dinner and at only 3 points. They are pretty filling and satisfy the sweet craving. My favorites so far are the chocolate orange, cookie dough, and chocolate cherry.

on June 25, 2020

I am addicted to Built bars. I love to keep them in the freezer- the german chocolate, chocolate coconut and chocolate mint. Fantastic texture...like the chocolate coated caramel square in a box of valentine chocolates.So they are apparently changing the recipe and that make me sad:(

on July 20, 2020

SO SAD that I just found out about these and now they are all sold out! I absolutely hate the cardboard taste and consistency of most other protein bars, but I'm a sweetaholic and was hoping i'd found my cure :(

on July 21, 2020

I love this too and actually the mint brownie is my favorite followed by the coconut creme. If you love mint and chocolate, don’t miss trying this one. It’s great in the freezer too.

on July 25, 2020


Add a comment:

(required)

(required, never published)



© 2020 Snack-Girl.com