Built Bar Review

Built Bar Review

April 8, 2019   45 Comments

This Built Bar review was inspired by a bunch of comments on a previous post.

I wrote What Are the Best Protein Bars for Weight Loss? based on all the bars that looked good at my local Whole Foods.

I was looking for bars that tasted good, had a high amount of protein, and weren’t high in calories. Two years ago, I took a look at thinkThin here: thinkThin High Protein Bars Review.

I must say I had never heard of Built protein bars until Helene wrote this on my protein bar post:

Built Bars are only 3 points for the whole bar, not that I would eat it at once. I purchased the Double Chocolate Mousse, Chocolate Raspberry Creme, and the Chocolate Strawberry Creme. They have a marshmallowy consistency when you bite into them - delicious. I've also tried cutting them up into 6 pieces and putting them into the freezer. Feels like a little treat to grab a piece.

How could I not try them? Marshmallow? Treat? In a protein bar? I was pretty excited when my box arrived.

The only way to buy them is online at Built Bar and that is probably why I hadn’t seen them before.

I bought a sample box of 6 bars for $9.95 BUT you can only buy this once. If you fall in love and want another mixed box, you can buy 18 bars for $36.

These are very different from most of my previous forays into the protein bar world. Here are the nutrition facts for one bar:

110 calories, 4.0 g fat, 2.5 g saturated fat, 13 g carbohydrates, 4 g sugar, 15 g protein, 6 g fiber, 3 mg sodium, 3 Freestyle SmartPts

Here are the ingredients: protein mix (whey protein isolate (milk), partially hydrolyzed whey protein isolate, gelatin, dark chocolate (chocolate liquor, sugar, cocoa butter, lechithin, vanillin), water, erythritol, glycerin, maltodextrin, natural flavor, citric acid

Somehow the makers of Built Bar made a product that reminds me of a 3 Musketeers bar but it doesn’t have sugar or fat. The texture is like a marshmallow and it is wrapped in chocolate.

The chocolate actually tastes like chocolate - no small feat in the protein bar world.

I tried a couple of flavors - the chocolate mousse (photo above) and the raspberry chocolate creme. I liked the raspberry flavor better. I don’t like mint and chocolate so I knew I wasn’t going to like the mint chocolate creme which tasted like toothpaste.

What can I say? I think these are better cold but they taste pretty good for what the ingredients might indicate. Initially, I thought they would taste like a science experiment but they remind me of candy. I am actually surprised about how much these tasted like a childhood treat. As an adult, my treats have gotten more sophisticated (think dark chocolate squares) so these don't hit my happy spot but I can see how people would love these.

I have a small reaction to erthritol (tummy trouble) that I did not get with these bars probably because they don’t use that much of it. I would not eat two in a day just to be on the safe side.

Overall, I think these are a good choice especially if you are a candy lover and want to wean yourself off of it. I like the idea of slicing these bars into pieces and having a chunk when you are craving something sweet. That way, you don’t eat too much of it at once and you save yourself some money.

Do I think these are the best choice? I would still try to go with unprocessed food (like an apple with peanut butter) when you can. But, I would stash one of these in my purse for those long days when I can’t bring along something fresh.

Have you tried Built Bars? What is your review?

Other posts you might like:


What are the Best Protein Bars for Weight Loss?

What are the Best Protein Bars for Weight Loss?

What are the best protein bars for weight loss? I can tell you that there are a TON of options.....


thinkThin High Protein Bars Review: Are They a Healthy Choice?

thinkThin High Protein Bars Review: Are They a Healthy Choice?

There are so many bars on the market and a reader asked me if I thought thinkThin high protein bars are a healthy choice.....



Get Free Email Updates! Yes please!


45 Comments:

I absolutely LOVE these bars. Coconut is my favorite. My husband likes the salted caramel. It's a great bang for your 3 WW points buck!

on April 9, 2019

I had never heard of the Built bars until your protein bar review. I love the Built bars! The coconut is my favorite. The consistency reminds me of a cream filled Easter egg. And unlike other bars, I don’t get the digestive issues that I do with most bars. I’m on my 2nd full order. I just wish they were available in the stores. Thanks snack girl for your product reviews!

on April 9, 2019

I’m that rare bird that doesn’t fancy them. One bite, and I taste chemicals. I have 2 boxes gathering dust in my kitchen. I would rather have an apple with peanut butter.

on April 9, 2019

I want to try these, but unfortunately, they aren't vegetarian-friendly. They look and sound so good!

on April 9, 2019

$2.00 is too much for a protein bar.

on April 9, 2019

I really wanted to like these after hearing how wonderful they are. After all they look so good and they are low in points... I’m sorry to say that I found them to be disgusting! I thought maybe it was just the first bite so I took another bite and proceeded to throw the rest of the bar away...Now I have almost a whole box that I paid good money for!

on April 9, 2019

Have to add my two cents worth. I love the flavor of the bars (I also tried the mixed selection) but I can’t get past the consistency. I tried them cut into pieces and frozen- dangerous for me with crowns and fillings; I ended up trying to let them melt in my mouth. That’s impossible, they are too gelatinous. As much as I like the flavor, i won’t order them again due to the consistency.

on April 9, 2019

I actually do love mint and chocolate together, (Andes mints and York peppmint patties are some of my faves!) and I found some Special K protein bars at Walmart in the granola bar area and they are a new fave! They have that same fluffy inside consistency you’re talking about. I grab those as a treat instead of a candy bar to satisfy my sweet tooth. They’re not overly sweet, either. Think Andes mint with about 1/3 less sweetness in a candy bar format. Insides are like a 3 Musketeers bar. $5.50 for a box of 5. Only 8g of protein but works great for a snack. They’re on the bottom shelf at my Walmart so you may have to hunt if you want to try them!

on April 9, 2019

Thanks to everyone for sharing their perspective. I did not find the consistency off-putting but I can see how one would. These are a love them or hate them kinda product.

on April 9, 2019

I hated them.

on April 9, 2019

I bought both the sample and a box of assorted. Some flavors I like and some not so much. Haven't tried them frozen yet. Expensive, but worth it when I'm working WW seriously. Erythritol is one of the few artificial sweeteners I can eat without digestive problems, but probably only 1 bar per day.

on April 9, 2019

I really love these bars. I especially love the Chocolate Moose and my second favorite choice is salted caramel. It's hard for me to believe that there are only three points. I usually eat a half at one sitting to help me ward off my cravings. I did not care for the lemon, raspberry, or chocolate mint. I highly recommend you giving them a shot.

on April 9, 2019

I really love these bars. I especially love the Chocolate Mousse and my second favorite choice is salted caramel. It's hard for me to believe that there are only three points. I usually eat a half at one sitting to help me ward off my cravings. I recently brought them with me for a trip to Russia and Israel and they were perfect, anytime I was hungry I would eat a half and it would really keep me full for like an hour. I did not care for the lemon, raspberry, or chocolate mint. I highly recommend you giving them a shot. By the way they are covered with real dark chocolate.

on April 9, 2019

Ugh erthritol. My body can't handle it at ALL. i think it's really dangerous, especially for people who have problems with food (as in, tendency to over-eat). It can make you REALLY ill. I'll pass on this, thanks!

on April 9, 2019

I bought the sample box and cut them into bite size pieces for my family to try. Unfortunately not 1 of the 4 of us really liked any of them. I didn't like them at all.

on April 9, 2019

Our favorite real food protein bars are SO EASY!!! 1 cup real peanut butter, 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1/2 cup flaxseed meal, 1/4 cup honey, dash of cinnamon and salt. I add 1/2 cup mix-ins like chopped dark chocolate or dried fruit. Press into 8x8 square pan and refrigerate before cutting into bars. So easy, delicious, and it's real food!

on April 9, 2019

There are oodles of DIY protein bar recipes -- and you control the ingredients (e.g. real food). For example, a link to 11 recipes: https://dailyburn.com/life/recipes/homemade-protein-bar-rec…

Link to 15 DIY "Larabar" recipes: https://mywholefoodlife.com/2015/06/22/15-diy-larabar-recip…

Personally, I got burned out on protein bars years ago and prefer eating a banana with some nut butter, or cottage cheese with berries, or wilted greens with veggies and legumes in a chicken or veggie broth. Cheers!

on April 9, 2019

Snack Girl, I'm glad you gave them a shot. I agree with Dawn and Jessica, nothing can replace "real food" as a snack; however, there are times when you just can't carry/travel with fresh food. I don't believe in using processed food/protein bars as meal replacements, but in a pinch, I find a bite or two of the Built bar to be a great alternative - and it has a lot less calories than nuts which I love, but tend to overeat.

on April 9, 2019

I ordered these right away, and tried the chocolate moose (I love dark chocolate). I had put in the freezer for a couple of hours. I found it so delicious, and the texture was similar to the soy or cashew milk ice cream bar I would have had as part of my usual evening snack. I ate 1/2 of a bar and was satisfied. I'm going to try them all in the sample, then order my favorites. I am usually sensitive to sorbitol (gassy, bloating, etc...), but the erthritol didn't seem to bother me. Maybe because of only eating 1/2 a bar.

on April 12, 2019

I ordered the sample box. LOVED these! Especially the chocolate mousse and the vanilla.

on April 12, 2019

Funny how these are so divisive. I love them and so does my 14 year old daughter. Coconut, Salted Caramel, Raspberry and Chocolate are our faves. Pretty much all protein bars are almost $2 in So Cal so the price wasn't any different to me.

on April 17, 2019

Ok since this article is about snacky type treats, I gotta put my 2 cents in. Now these bars are like 5 to 6 pts each BUT I'm tellin ya, they are to die for! They are called Clio bars. They are chocolate wrapped in greek yogurt. I found blueberry, strawberry, hazelnut and vanilla at my local WalMart in the refrigerated section with yogurt, sour cream, etc. They were $1 each and the bar could actually be a meal replacement. They fill the bill for me!

on April 18, 2019

I really love these bars. I have issues with nuts and seeds, so these were a great find for me. They are so good that I'm worried that their nutrition label might not be entirely accurate. The chocolate mint, which usually is one of my favorites, really does taste like toothpaste, but otherwise I enjoy all the flavors. Does anybody know if these contain complete proteins?

on April 23, 2019

I work out 6 days a week, Interval type WOD work outs, incorporating heavy weight lifting with cardio. This is a lifestyle incorporated with healthy eating choices but balance is important. I have tried every bar I feel like on the market, some better than others. Now, keep in mind my, I’m a huge marshmallow, Carmel type treat eater to begin with, this bar is a game changer!!!!!!! I like one of the above posts and agree fresh and organic all the way!! Apple, almond butter, all that BUT a protein bar Hugh in fiber and low calorie and low carb!!! I’m your girl! With trying!!!!!

on May 6, 2019

I like these a lot. Some flavors more than other...salted carmel - yum. Banana - yum, raspberry - yum. Strawberry - ick, mint- meh, chocolate - good, Lemon - not sure.

I like the consistency and flavor! Especially from the freezer.

on May 9, 2019

Love Built Bars...low calorie and taste great. A game changer for anyone trying to lose weight. They're a little pricy but they have free shipping, multi box discounts and great incentive program. My favorite was the recent limited release of banana.

on May 12, 2019

I love built bars especially the banana. I hope they start making these always. I like a snack at night and these built bars do it for me.

on May 18, 2019

Just tried my first Built Bar (lemon) and I’m not a fan. The consistency is weird. My bigger issue is the apparent caffeine content. I’m very sensitive to caffeine and just half a bar made my heart race! I know have 2 boxes I can’t eat😰

on May 24, 2019

I love love love my Built bars.i ordered a mixed box and a vanilla cream box the first time. My favorite are the vanilla cream and the raspberry. I like the double chocolate but I feel like it’s too rich. I didn’t like the salted caramel. I recently saw they had a promotion for banana flavor and I ordered those and really like them too. I am now waiting on a new promotional box of mocha flavor. I recently saw they had a promotion for banana flavor and I ordered those and really like them too. I am now waiting on a new promotional box of mocha flavor
The only problem that I’ve had is that occasionally a few seem to arrive a little melted or moldy when they get to my house and I think that’s just because they don’t have a whole lot of preservatives in them .
My 10-year-old son has eaten a muffin every morning for breakfast before school for the last five years and I could never get him to eat anything that has protein in it. Recently we were out of muffins so I gave him one of the bars and that was it. It has changed his life. It’s a bar before school every day now and even though it looks like candy, he is actually getting a lot more protein and a lot less sugar than he did with his usual muffin.

on May 24, 2019

Interested in the built protein bar

on May 29, 2019

Love them too. Never want more than one and usually can eat a half through the day. They aren’t cheap but there are discounts to be had and rewards you can earn with the company! Shipping is free and fairly quick. I’ve never found anything worth 3 Weight Watchers points that is that delicious. They can keep their measly 2 point bars. Definitely satisfies the chocolate craving. I love PB and such but not on the Smartpoints plan, the sugar and fat shoots us in the foot! I use Splenda and saccharin and hate stevia. I will leave my body to science when I die to see what it did to me! Thanks for reviewing this!

on May 31, 2019

My favorite bars, by far. I did take the advise to try them frozen. I think I should have cut them first. As they shrunk to 1/3 of their normal size. I have now tossed one from the freezer into the fridge to see if it expands.

on June 4, 2019

I wonder if people are getting paid to promote these? In a couple of my Facebook groups, people are promoting these like crazy. They’re good, but they’re not that good. The chocolate one made me gag. Coconut is satisfactory. The way people are raving over these, it reminds me of the scripted beach body/plexus/it works spiel.

on June 5, 2019

I bought Built Bars after my WW meeting members were raving about them. I bought Salted Caramel, Coconut, Double Chocolate and Mocha. Then they sent 6 free Cinnamon. The consistency to me is like soft caramel and the flavors are pretty intense. So I liked the caramel, coconut, and mocha. The double chocolate was a bit too chocolatey for my tastes. And the cinnamon burned my tongue and will be taking them to my WW meeting to for others to try the cinnamon if they want to risk it *grin*. They are expensive but I think my meeting leader takes orders so she gets a quantity discount.

on June 5, 2019

The first one I tried was ok, the consistency was just a bit off-putting. Then I put the second in the fridge and it was yummy. I like the cold texture better than room temp.

on June 17, 2019

Why can’t these be purchased in any stores?

on June 19, 2019

I recently bought my first sampler box of Built Bars. I haven't tried all the flavors yet but I like the mint and the coconut. I didn't care for the taste when I tried them right out of the box, but once I refrigerated them I liked them better. I also tried freezing them but they got too hard, so I recommend the fridge. Not my favorite bar ever but it did really fill me up and it's only 3 points. I agree that often times a half bar is all you need.

on June 19, 2019

Omg, Thank you so much for your review on built bars. I got my first box and put them in the freezer as you suggested. I cut them into small bite-size pieces and it satisfied my urge for chocolate 100%. I love these bars

on June 25, 2019

I just placed my fourth order for the Built Bars. I started with the sample box in early April to make sure I would like them. This time, I ordered two boxes to take advantage of the extra bars they were offering; this is especially good when you want to sample a new flavor! I, obviously, love these bars! The variety of flavors has something for everyone, the real dark chocolate is a definite plus and the fact that this ample-sized bar is only 110 calories and gives you 15g of protein is amazing! If the ingredients bother some people, I understand that you would not favor these bars or maybe you don't like the conistency, but I do love them, especially cold (frozen is taking a chance with your teeth!) The fruity flavors are my favorite, and I will be anxious to try the new blueberry cheesecake. What a great addition to incorporte as a daily or every-other-day "fueling" or knowing this bar is only 3 WW points! I truly feel as though I am "cheating" when I have a Built Bar.

on July 1, 2019

I think these bars are fantastic! I just received my 4th order. They come in about a week. My favorite flavors are:orange, lemon, mint(tastes like a peppermint patty) and coconut (tastes like a mounds bar. If you place an order for any two boxes, they include 6 extra free bars.No shipping charge.

on July 6, 2019

Is this a protein bar that name builtbar has a good taste? I am thinking to try some of it. I hope it will satisfy my tast3!!!

on July 11, 2019

Id likes to taste it then. something more healthy than a chocolate bar. a protein in bar is it?

on July 11, 2019

I love Built bars. Coconut is my favorite! Especially frozen! They get so chewy when eaten cold. Do you know about the discount code that helps fight cancer? When you order/reorder, use code BIGCLIMB2019 for a 10% discount, free shipping and any current promotions too. Each time it is used, Built will donate $2 to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

on July 11, 2019

I've tried the sample and have gotten the trial of cinnamon, which I liked. Some of the flavors I wasn't fond of (raspberry, lemon, mint). I don't "love" the bars, which is good so I don't eat too many. I have had problems with artificial sweeteners, but not erythritol. Nice to have on hand for an emergency snack or candy when seriously working WW. Never found a DIY bar recipe that was low enough in calories/points to substitute. Love that it is high in protein as this is a problem area for me.

on July 11, 2019

I'm interested in the post by Cheri where she said they contain caffeine and made her heart race. I'm also sensitive to caffeine but the nutrition facts from the website don't mention them containing any. They're chocolate covered so I'm assuming there's at least a small amount of caffeine in them. Does anyone have any info on this aspect?

8 hours ago


Add a comment:

(required)

(required, never published)


Welcome!

I'm Snack Girl and my website is devoted becoming healthier. I create recipes, review food products, and support those on a healthy journey.


 

Subscribe to Snack Girl's Free Newsletter

New subscribers get our exclusive list of 100 healthy snack ideas &


© 2019 Snack-Girl.com