Menu

Quest Bar Review - Are These a Good Choice?

February 5, 2020   23 Comments

This Quest Bar review continues my quest for the perfect protein bar. The short version of this post is that my journey continues.

Quest Bar Review

I have taken a look at Built Bar and Pure Protein Bar and I find these to be okay.

Quest Bar is in another category. I purchased this allotment at my local gas station convenience store.

Do you see the flavors? S’Mores! Donuts! Blueberry muffins! Oh yeah, a healthy muffin. I was very intrigued because if you can make a healthy donut that actually tastes good - you will change my world.

The Chocolate Sprinkled Doughnut was my first taste because I was so excited. Twenty grams of protein, 14 grams of fiber, and no sugar in a donut flavored protein bar? I want to love this Quest Bar so I will stop craving donuts!

As you can see, it is sprinkled covered like a donut but it tastes so awful. As a writer, I should be able to put into words how bad this bar is but it escapes me. It was chalky, sickly sweet, flavored like a donut but so fake. I have tried so many protein bars but this was the worst I have ever tasted.

I am sticking to donuts.

My next try was Quest Chocolate Brownie. Many protein bar brands have a version of this that is acceptable so I thought I would see if it works. Maybe donut flavored was too ambitious?

Ummmm. no. This was also inedible. Sticky, chalky, sickly sweet and just plain strange. Here are the ingredients for the Quest BarChocolate Chip version:

Protein Blend (Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate),Soluble Corn Fiber (Prebiotic Fiber), Almonds, Water, Unsweetened Chocolate, Natural Flavors, Erythritol, Cocoa Butter, Palm Oil, Sea Salt, Calcium Carbonate, Sucralose, Steviol Glycosides (Stevia).

The problem, as you can see, is that Quest bars are using erythritol (sugar alcohol) and stevia. If you use too much of these ingredients, the flavor will be off.

Also, in the quest for 14 grams of fiber per bar, they use soluble corn fiber. I think that leads the bar to have a very strange texture. You can see in the above label that the bar is 190 calories with 0 added sugars.

I want to like these! Any bar with low sugar and high protein for those hunger pangs can be a good thing but they have to be edible.

My research has led me to an article on Quest Bars that says that Quest used to be much better - and then they changed their recipe.

That makes sense to me because I cannot understand how they are on many health websites as a good choice.

But, I am sure that some people absolutely love these so do try them yourself. They are about $2 (so not much of a risk).

Have you tried Quest Bar? What did you think?

Other posts you might like:


Built Bar Review -- Do They Deserve the Hype?

Built Bar Review - Do They Deserve the Hype?

This Built Bar review was inspired by a bunch of comments on a previous post and is my personal (non-sponsored) opinion of these bars.


Pure Protein Bars Review

Pure Protein Bars Review

This Pure Protein Bars review is the latest in my ongoing quest to find the best protein bar.....



Get Free Email Updates! Yes please!


First 20 Comments: [ see all 23 ]

I agree with your review of Quest. However, the chocolate chip cookie dough is not bad. It is less sweet and very cookie dough ish.

on February 6, 2020

Before I discovered the Coconut Built Bars, I used to eat the mint chocolate Chip quest bars occasionally, and once in a while they were okay. I definitely prefer the Built Bar, or Costco’s Kirkland brand (cinnamon roll) when it’s warmer, as they do not melt.

on February 6, 2020

I agree with you on some of the Quest Bar flavors. Some have a weird texture and taste. However, there are several I do like, not love, but do eat. The Double Chocolate Chunk is one of my favorites probably because I like chunks of goodies, so the few dark chocolate chunks are nice. I have tried the Chocolate Brownie and liked it as well, but not as much as the Double Chocolate Chunk. These are the 2 flavors that I have had enough of to say what I think. I also heard they changed the formula and they use to be better, but they are good especially when I'm busy or on the go. I've tried the Kind Bars and found a few flavors that I liked as well.

on February 6, 2020

I agree that the previous recipe for Quest Bars was much better. They definitely are not my first choice, more like last on the list now. Currently eating Kirkland Bars but won't purchase these again either.

on February 6, 2020

Please review One protein bars.

They are amazing. Maple Doughnut, Coconut Bliss, Blueberry cobbler

on February 6, 2020

I think that I am the only person on this planet that cannot stand Quest bars. I have tried multiple times, as recent as 10 days ago. One bite & it's almost like my mouth swells up. The aftertaste is just unbearable. Pitched it so I'm done.

on February 6, 2020

I love all things Quest

Best bars out there

The novelty flavours push the limits of palatable enjoyment but I still buy them as a type 1 diabetic they are the best option for me

on February 6, 2020

Not a fan of the bars, but I like the cookies. I have tried the chocolate chip, double chocolate, and peanut butter chocolate chip cookies.

on February 6, 2020

OMG I couldn't agree with you MORE! I actually won about 50 Quest Bars on a blog a few years ago (so I am doubting their recipe was better back then as well). Like you, I sooooooo wanted to like them. Like you, I thought they were the most dreadful thing I have ever eaten. Yes, chalky, a bizarre consistency. Just DREADFUL. I threw all 50 of them into the garbage!

on February 6, 2020

I love the quest hero bars

on February 6, 2020

Only thing good about the Quest bar is that I can keep it in my purse and only eat half when I need a protein fix. I am never tempted to eat the whole bar.

on February 6, 2020

I agree about the quest bars for the most part. The peanut butter cups were the worst things ever. However they have switched sugars on 2 of their bars with allullose and are imho much better.

on February 6, 2020

I used to love Quest bars, I guess before they changed the formula. Cannot stand them now! They taste terrible.

on February 6, 2020

The key to eating the Quest bars is to warm them in the microwave for about 10-20 seconds (depending on your microwave power). I usually put them in and watch them. They will begin to get a bubble rising in the middle. That's when they are perfect. They become softer and taste much better. Otherwise, I find their texture to be like a Tootsie Roll. I use them for an occasional snack while doing Keto. They have very low carbs, so it works for me. Also, as someone mentioned before, the Quest Hero bars are much better, more like a candy bar. I don't have to microwave those to taste good.

on February 6, 2020

I totally agree, quest bars used to be okay, but i was so excited about that donut one and everyone said it was so good, i bought a whole box and sent the whole thing back they were disgusting!! The chocolate chip one isn't bad if you heat in the microwave for exactly 10 seconds <-- if you havent tried this then you havent really tried a quest bar!!

on February 6, 2020

Ugh these look awful!! Pack a greek yogurt on ice or an apple and peanut butter. So much better!

on February 6, 2020

Used to love them, they are different now. Microwaving them is a totally different bar. The oatmeal chocolate chip cookie is really good though!

I love the built bars though and you didn’t! Lol!

on February 6, 2020

I love the mint chocolate chip, sometimes the blueberry - some of the others I can't stand.

on February 6, 2020

Thank you for your honesty!

on February 6, 2020

Being on WW (green), I find Quest bars low in points (4-5) and great for lunch or a snack on the go. I know they are not going to taste like candy bars, but that's okay because I don't need candy bars! I don't eat them everyday, but suffice it to say they keep me on my program when I'm in a rush. I have a few favorite flavors: Vanilla Almond, Coconut, Mocha Chocolate Chip, Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie and White Chocolate Raspberry. I've heard other people complain about the aftertaste of stevia, but I have not had that problem.

on February 7, 2020

See all 23 Comments


Add a comment:

(required)

(required, never published)



© 2020 Snack-Girl.com