Menu

Enlightened Ice Cream Reviews

May 3, 2021   20 Comments

These Enlightened ice cream reviews are for those of use looking for an alternative to our favorite dessert.

Enlightened Ice Cream Reviews

Who doesn’t love ice cream? As much as I would like to eat a pint of Ben & Jerry’s Coffee Toffee Bar Crunch every day, it is not a wise choice. We are talking saturated fats and lots of sugar. oh man.

Of course, food companies know some of us are trying to cut back so they began creating products that have a fraction of the amounts of saturated fats and sugars to make us happy (and keep us buying stuff instead of giving up).

I have taken a look at Halo Top and Breyer’s Delights. But, I was not convinced that these could take the place of ice cream.

I like my Yonanas Soft Serve Maker better because the product, soft serve ice cream made from frozen bananas, tasted better and was better for me.

Things have changed since I met Enlightened ice cream. They call themselves a Keto ice cream because their products are low in carbohydrates.

I could only find three pints of the stuff at my local Target at the back of the freezer and now I know why.

You get 1/2 cup of ice cream for 90 calories (4 SmartPoints on Blue) and it actually tastes like ice cream. I am not sure exactly how they did it. Take a look at the ingredients below.

Ingredients for Enlightened ice cream vanilla: skim milk, milk protein concentrate, erythritol, non-GMO soluble corn fiber, cream, egg yolks, tapioca syrup, vegetable glycerin, vanilla, carob gum, guar gum, mono & diglycerides, vanilla beans, monk fruit extract

Perhaps it tastes like ice cream because they include cream and egg yolks?

When you first open a pint - this is the message that you get.

Umm, do I look like I have time to wait for ice cream to soften? Sheesh! I popped mine in the microwave for 20 seconds and then dug in.

This is the Enlightened cookies and cream flavor which was my least favorite. It was a little too sweet for me but it had excellent creamy texture.

Next, I tried the vanilla and my mind was blown. I fed this to my husband (who only eats the best ice cream) and he said that he liked it. What? How is it possible that something with “milk protein concentrate” could taste like ice cream? But it does. I would eat this vanilla and not feel like I compromised one bit.

Finally, I tried the final flavor that I could find in Target - Enlightened chocolate peanut butter - and it was delicious. The chocolate was bitter and not too sweet and the peanut butter was creamy. I give it five stars.

I don’t know what magic wand they used to make this stuff taste like the OG ice cream but it worked.

It does include erythritol (sugar alcohol) as an ingredient but it didn’t bother me. Erythritol can give me stomach trouble of the not fun kind.

Have you tried Enlightened ice cream? What do you think of my Enlightened ice cream reviews? Did I get it right?

Other posts you might like:


Halo Top Review

Halo Top Review

This Halo Top review is in response to the people who want to know if you can actually like light ice cream with a fraction of the calories of REAL ice cream.....


Breyers Delights Review

Breyers Delights Review

This Breyers Delights review may stop you from getting a stomachache. I believe Breyers is trying to get you to eat an entire pint of ice cream.


Yonanas Classic Vegan Non-Dairy Frozen Fruit Soft Serve Dessert Maker BPA Free, Includes 36 Recipes, 200-Watts, Silver

Yonanas Classic Vegan Non-Dairy Frozen Fruit Soft Serve Dessert Maker BPA Free, Includes 36 Recipes, 200-Watts, Silver

  $49.95 Buy on Amazon.com

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.



Get Free Email Updates! Yes please!


20 Comments:

I love Enlightening Ice Cream!!

The Salted Caramel is my absolute favorite. It’s low calories & points & doesn't upset my stomach the way some of the low calorie products do.

on February 25, 2020

It is divine, I tried the WINK, yuck, this stuff though...I am hooked. It is only available at a Winn Dixie about 45 mins f/me, but that is okay, I can stock up when I go to Sam's. You are on point!

on February 25, 2020

I agree, though my favorites are the Enlightened bars. Portion control and great tasting!

on February 25, 2020

Thanks for the review. I've been hesitant to try it. Was not a fan of Halo Top. Might give Enlightened a chance.

on February 25, 2020

Might give Enlightened a try. I haven't liked any of the other brands enough to purchase again. Erythritol is one of the only sugar alcohols that doesn't bother me (at least not much). I do like the Healthy Choice organic fudge bars (Costco), 5 pt on Green or Blue.

on February 25, 2020

I love, love Enlightened Coffee ice cream !!! It’s my weekly indulgence that I don’t even feel guilty about ! Awesome if you like the flavor of coffee; soo creamy!

on February 25, 2020

So the problem I have with these and other like products is their body. Their sensorial impact is too short for me. I like flavors to last and ripen and change in my mouth.

on February 25, 2020

Hi, Thank you for this topic on ice cream. I love cream & need to really look into al the above info. your comments will help, I always read them & consider them. Thank you Snack Girl & Super Followers. Annette

on February 26, 2020

I love Enlightened SO much! I've been a fan for some time now. Thank you for doing a review.

on February 27, 2020

I have only tried the bars, and found them awful. Have you ever tried Arctic Zero? I love it, and it half the calories of Enlightened for some of the flavors.

on March 5, 2020

I have only tried Coffee and Cream, and Chocolate Peanut Butter. They're both excellent and guilt free. The CPB is my favorite of the two as it has nice hard swirls of peanut butter which complement the softness of the delicious chocolate blend.

on July 2, 2020

The chocolate peanut butter Enlightened is heavenly! It tastes like I'm cheating, but I'm not. I eat it straight from the freezer as it takes longer to spoon it out and am satisfied with less that I would be if let it "soften." Great stuff!!!

on May 4, 2021

What about lactose intolerant people? Hubby does not like fruit flavored . What is the best kind for him?

on May 4, 2021

I keep some of these in my freezer; usually the caramel. The ingredients don't seem to bother me, but I only eat them occasionally. I eat the pops. Not all flavors are the same calories, etc. I like the pops because they are a control amount. As a diabetic I need to watch what I eat. My go-to is anything with Splenda.

on May 4, 2021

Enlightened used to be my favorite, like you I do have some not so good tummy problems with erythritol so small servings. But

...once I tried NICK'S ICE CTEAM, Halo and Enlightened are things of the past. you should definitely do a Review of Nick's. Chocolate peanut butter. Butter Pecan and Chocolate Cherry Chunk ate my favourites

Depending on choices mist of them are half cup serving for 2 or 3 SP.super creamy real Swedish Ice cream

Safeway or Albertson's carry a plethora of flavors and if you go to Nick's website you can sign up for coupons.

on May 4, 2021

Enlightened used to be my favorite, like you I do have some not so good tummy problems with erythritol so small servings. But

...once I tried NICK'S ICE CTEAM, Halo and Enlightened are things of the past. you should definitely do a Review of Nick's. Chocolate peanut butter. Butter Pecan and Chocolate Cherry Chunk are my favorites.

Depending on choices most of them are half cup serving for 2 or 3 SP.super creamy real Swedish Ice cream

Safeway or Albertson's carry a plethora of flavors and if you go to Nick's website you can sign up for coupons.

on May 4, 2021

Absolutely agree with this review. Enlightened is always gone in my store. Have to check every time I shop. Some really good flavors but I actually like the chocolate the best. We have to pay $7.00 in Canada but still worth it. I get 3 servings from one container but could easily eat the whole thing at one sitting.

on May 4, 2021

Enlightened is my favorite brand! A few of the flavors are too sweet, birthday cake, donut something? but most of them are great.

on May 5, 2021

I like the Enlightened Cold Brew. I also like Halo Top Chocolate, but I can never find that anymore. I'm afraid to try all flavors of Enlightened, because some of them have more calories. I like to stick to 1/2 cup at 2 Blue points, or 3 tops.

on May 24, 2021

LOTS OF INFORMATION, THANK YOU ANY OTHER NAME BRAND ICE CREAM SAYING "LIGHT" OR LOW FAT & SUGAR? I WOULD APPRECIATE. IT TAKES SO LONG TO CHOOSE BECAUSE I DON'T SEE ANY THAT HAVE BOTH? LOW FAT, OR LOW SUGAR? I GO BY 5 GRAMS OR LESS. [SOMETIMES 6GRMS. THANK YOU ALL, SNACK GIRL I APRRECIATE ALL YOUR INFO. BLESSINGS TO ALL "GOOD HEALTH & STAY SAFE. ANNETTE

on May 25, 2021


Add a comment:

(required)

(required, never published)



© 2021 Snack-Girl.com