The Best Packaged Bread You Can Buy

Ezekiel Bread Review

October 16, 2012   95 Comments

I am always looking for a loaf of bread that I can recommend without a doubt. Ezekiel bread is one of those breads.

I have analyzed the nutrients and tasted Alvarado Street Bakery and Dave’s Killer Bread.

How do I do it? Here is some advice:

Tip #1: Ignore everything on the front of the package. Okay, this package of bread is called “Ezekiel”. Ezekiel is acknowledged as a Hebrew prophet and he included a recipe for bread in his Book of Ezekiel (see Wikipedia). This is the quote from the front of the label:

“Take also unto thee WHEAT and BARLEY, and BEANS, and LENTILS, and MILLET, and SPELT, and put them in one vessel, and make bread of it...” Ez. 4:9

Whether you love the bible reference or you are repelled by it, the nutritional information on this bread is in the nutrition facts on the back of the package.

Tip #2: Look at the FIRST ingredient in the ingredients list. Here you would expect that ingredient to be wheat.

Yea! It is “organic sprouted wheat” which is when you take whole wheat berries and germinate them. You just add water and let them grow a little bit then you use them in a recipe. Sprouted grains are supposed to make the starches in grains easier to digest.

The real question here - “Is it whole wheat?” and the answer is yes!

Tip #3: Check out the grams of sugar. Yes, there are companies that add sugar to bread and even sucralose. For bread, I would also check the grams of fiber and try to buy bread with more than 4 grams per serving.

Hallelujah, amen! There are ZERO grams of sugar in this bread. Do you know how hard it is to find a bread without added sugar?!!

And the fiber is four grams, and you have 5 g of protein and all sorts of good stuff. The sodium is low - this is great bread from a nutritional standpoint.

How does it taste? I don’t know because my husband ate it all :) I managed to snatch a few bites from his hands and I think it is delicious.

To find it check out Ezekiel’s Store Locator. It does tend to be at Whole Foods or health food stores so you might have to make a special trip. I like to store healthy bread in my freezer so I don’t have to worry about paying $4 for a loaf that turns green if I don't eat it fast enough.

For one slice: 80 calories, 1 g fat, 21.8 g carbohydrates, 0 g sugar, 5 g protein, 4 g fiber, 70 mg sodium, 2 SmartPoints

Have you tried Ezekiel bread? What do you think of it? What other breads have you found that are healthy? Please share.

This product was received for review consideration. No other compensation was provided.


Other posts you might like:


Daves killer bread review

Dave’s Killer Bread: It Won’t Kill You

America’s favorite organic sliced bread – Dave’s Killer bread - is sort of amazing.....


Alvarado Street Bakery Bread Review

Have You Tried Sprouted Bread?

Alvarado St. Bakery makes sprouted bread and you can find it all over the country....



Get Free Email Updates! Yes please!


95 Comments:

Unless you always toast your bread wouldn't storing it in the freezer leave it dry for a sandwich...I mean, you just take out what you want when you need it, right. I always heard this brand tasted like cardboard. Is it REALLY good?

on October 16, 2012

I like it, but you do have to at least keep it in the fridge. I like the orange package version myself, forget which they call it. But sprouted grain in general is so much better for you.

on October 16, 2012

I LOVE this bread! I have a loaf of the sesame in the fridge right now! Rich taste, very dense, yummy flavor!

on October 16, 2012

I will give it a try. Just got to reading the label on my favorite bread yesterday (beyond the whole wheat part) and discovered it has sugar and soy. Neither is unusual in bread but sugar other than pure cane sugar will almost certainly contain beet sugar, which means genetically engineered. Likewise with the soy. Too bad. I really liked the bread.

on October 16, 2012

I love this bread! I keep it in the fridge because my family will use the loaf in a week. Tastes GREAT. The same company makes a really good breakfast cereal--

on October 16, 2012

I never had ezekiel bread, but I see it in the stores. I have to try it! My personal favorite is St. Alvarado Street Bakery. Its 100 calories for two slices, 1 gram of sugar and 2 grams of fat!! I had to run and check the label out. I'm pretty pleased with it!! I love todays post!! I'm going to try ezekiel bread next time I go to the store.

on October 16, 2012

I have tried the bread and found it to be very good. I was very surprised to find it in the store freezer. It is more expensive than other breads that you find on the shelf, but I do buy it often.

on October 16, 2012

If you're a what-there's-sugar-in-bread? person, it may take some time to get used to the, um, more plain taste of Ezekiel, but if you're intent on eating bread, it's worth the initial discomfort, IMO.

(Personally, the only "bread" I eat these days are Trader Joe's corn tortillas, made with corn, lime, and water. My wife likes Ezekiel's English muffins with some honey or maple syrup and that's typically the only "bread" she eats.)

Lately, I've been sprouting hard red winter wheat ("wheatberries") and either eating the wheatberries as a cold cereal with diced fruit or slow-cooking them and blending the results into homemade "wheatmeal" (like oatmeal).

Since sprouting converts starch to sugar, they've got a nice natural sweetness to them and I can be 100% certain of nothing added (since it's only hard red winter wheat and water!).

on October 16, 2012

Ive been eating Ezekiel lately too - yum! I recommend trying the Sesame version if you're new to sprouted grain bread - adds a little sweetness and yummy crunch. I keep it in the fridge an always toast it; even just warmed for 30 seconds in the toaster is great and makes it soft if you don't want crunchy toast. It makes a great addition to a bean or lentil soup for lunch; sometimes I add a little shredded cheese and pop it under the broiler.

Interestingly, Ezekiel Sesame just became the only bread my two year old will eat the crust of. Too bad for her that I mostly hoard I for myself ;) it's expensive!

on October 16, 2012

What about sourdough breads? How do they rate in the nutrition department? It's fermented, and that's good, right?

on October 16, 2012

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this bread!! I buy the Ezekiel English Muffins too :)

on October 16, 2012

YES!!! we love the Ezekiel brand. I have been buying it for about 6 months now and my kids never noticed the transition. They love the english muffins too! I buy the low sodium loaf, NO SODIUM!!!!! at all. I will have to look for the flax one. I always put ground flax on their toast, sandwiches and waffles.

on October 16, 2012

Oh yeah, you can find it in the freezer section of Market Basket:)

on October 16, 2012

I have used this bread before and found that it can get dried out. Don't know if it's because it's been in the freezer to long at the store or what. Sometimes it's fine.

on October 16, 2012

Great bread..and I personally love the biblical scripture.

on October 16, 2012

I have tried Ezekiel and rate it palatable if toasted. The taste and texture could be improved if it was not frozen. One slice at a time toasted, gave the after taste of stale freezer burn bread - blah! Perhaps the Sesame version is better.

The brand I have been buying is Alvarado St. Bakery Sprouted Wheat, California Protein, or Sprouted Multi-Grain. All three are labeled as organic sprouted wheat. My local grocery store stores it near the breads, but separately.

I store it in the fridge.

on October 16, 2012

For those who don't want to buy it frozen...Trader Joe's (at least the one by me) sells it in the regular bread aisle.

on October 16, 2012

We have a loaf of this or the other varieties in our freezer at all times. Plus, Trader Joe's has their own brand of sprouted breads, including a sprouted rye, 60 calories, 0 (zero) grams sugar, 5 grams protein and three grams fiber. It is not available at all locations, not sure why.

on October 16, 2012

I've only tried the green bag type. I like toasting it, cutting into strips and eating it with hummus. Yum! Thanks for the review, never looked for sugar in bread before!

on October 16, 2012

I have discovered "Smart Carb" bread by Julian Bakery; only could find it at Vitamin Cottage. It has 3 net carbs, 16 grams of protein per slice, 90 calories per slice and no sugar. It's dry...you need to drink water with it, but it's good, low cal, low carbs, high protein and no sugar.

on October 16, 2012

If you don't see it at your supermarket, try looking in the frozen section!

on October 16, 2012

My husband and I thought it was delicious. I kept in in the freezer. I noticed when I cooked it it had a funny odor, but it tasted great!

on October 16, 2012

Honestly, this bread is worth every penny. We like the English muffins in particular. Suggest you keep it in the freezer for maximum enjoyment and minimum mold. Amen!

on October 16, 2012

I buy Ezekiel as well. I like the tortillas and the bagels too but they're a little harder to find.

on October 16, 2012

www.foodforlife.com
OK, there are lots about this bread online, enough positive reviews that I am heading to Trader Joes to give it a try, and I am refrigerating it, not freezing it. It comes frozen right, I will just thaw it in the refrig and store it there. I really think it will be very dry and only good for toast. And it still has GLUTEN ...does not bother me but may others.

on October 16, 2012

they do sell gluten free types on their website

on October 16, 2012

Love this bread, love their sprouted tortillas, love everything about this brand!!! It's a staple in my house. I have tried others, but cannot find anything else that compares nutritionally or in taste.

on October 16, 2012

I like Ezekial bread. I prefer it toasted, and the sesame is probably my favorite. The cinnamon raisin is good as well. I do store mine in the freezer. As others have already posted, it must at least be refrigerated. I think it is somewhat an acquired taste. I was not a big fan the first time or two I ate it, but now I find other breads seem 'wimpy' in comparison. I suggest giving it a try!

on October 16, 2012

It does take a little getting used to if you like soft fluffy bread for a sandwich. I always toast it. I love it toasted with all natural peanut butter for breakfast!

on October 16, 2012

*I should add/clarify: It needs to be refrigerated for it to last for any length of time...No preservatives and, with the sprouted grains, it can go funky pretty quickly without being refrigerated!

on October 16, 2012

Ezekiel bread is great! If you're looking to eat bread without the carb guilt then this your go to bread.

on October 16, 2012

I see this all the time, but have never bought it. Time to give it a try!

on October 16, 2012

YES!!! It is one of the best breads you will ever want to taste. Just wish it came fresh and not frozen. Also, Rudi's organic bread is the best fresh organic whole grain bread on the planet but Great Harvest Bakery is the No. 1 BEST of all time! if there happens to be one in your area.

on October 16, 2012

Love the bread,please dont apologize
For the Bible that is where the receipe comes from!

on October 16, 2012

TO the person who said, "...Ezekiel Sesame just became the only bread my two year old will eat the crust of. Too bad for her that I mostly hoard I for myself ;) it's expensive!"

I really hope that the winky face meant you were being facetious. If not, and you really DO hoard the nutritious and expensive stuff from your child I have to assume you then mean you let your child eat less nutritious, less expensive stuff? I really hope this is not what you meant because I would have to say that is extremely selfish. If anything the nutritious expensive stuff to go to your child ESPECIALLY at age 2 when they are the pickiest and getting wholesome foods is already a challenge.

However, I am going to give you the benefit of the doubt and assume you were not being serious.

on October 16, 2012

I love the Snack Girl blogs!!! I do have to say that I too am a fan of Ezekiel bread, but agree not the most moist for sandwiches

Snack girl, you don't need to jusify the name of this bread, if people are that bent out of shape about it ( I think the name is super cool ) then let them eat bread that is loaded in sugar, carbs and calories!If there was a healthy solution to fettucine alfredo that referred to something regarding a religion outside of my own I would still eat it! ;) I'm buying the food, not the religion

on October 16, 2012

After calling several health food stores listed on the "Ezekiel Store Locator" link in this article, I was told that this can be found in Krogers and at Publix...in their frozen section.

on October 16, 2012

Trader Joe's brand of sprouted wheat bread is quite good. Slices are a little bigger so more calories. I prefer it toasted (vs not) either w/ peanut butter or for grilled cheese sandwiches.

on October 16, 2012

Ezekiel makes a great raisin bread. I tried the bread because it was from the Bible.your # 1 tip is insulting to many of your readers.

on October 16, 2012

You assigned a PointsPlus value of 3 (per slice) based on 21.8 total carbs, but the label you show says 14 carbs, which would be 2 points. Please clarify - thanks. =)

on October 16, 2012

I REALLY like the English muffins! 1/2 topped with 2 egg whites (prepared in microwave) & 1tsp. flax oil is a very yummy and satisfying breakfast made in 2 minutes!

on October 16, 2012

We usually eat the Alvarado St.Bakery California Protein or Sprouted Multi-Grain available at Costco or the Trader Joe's Flourless Sprouted Wheat...it does have 3 grams of sugar but it comes from dates and raisins and I'm OK with that.
Any suggestions on how to make your own with sprouted wheat? I would love to try it.

on October 16, 2012

this is the bread that jesus would eat.....and anybody who cares about carbs!

on October 16, 2012

type Ezekiel bread in a search engine and recipes for homemade come up galore...

on October 16, 2012

hmmm not sold in Canada..

on October 16, 2012

I love the Ezekiel breads. I keep them in the refrigerator for up to two weeks. The cinnamon raisin bread is great for a healthy treat and the wraps are a healthy alternative for quesadillas.

on October 16, 2012

Too bad its not sold in Canada. Maybe one of your gro or health food stores could try ordering it. Also, Rudi's Bakery in Colorado is another source of xlnt organic whole grain bread. Maybe there is a Great Harvest Bakery in Canada by now. Good luck.

on October 16, 2012

Lisa! Nice article. I have been wanting to try the raisin bread version of this yogurt cheese for breakfast sometime. I get wonderful Ezekiel bread from a local baker called "The Fat Lady Bakery" because it's so true: Never trust a skinny Baker, clearly they don't eat their own food! Sugar as you well know is used to feed the Yeast in bread. It is NECESSARY and FUNCTIONAL for certain amounts, however incremental,you know this! Yeast make bubbles and bubbles make fluffy bread. Thus the dense chewy texture of the bread. The mini loaf I had was rather sweet though, but sweet to me is not sweet to everyone. My co workers look at me like a cat in a bath when I sit and crunch on my raw snow peas for my mid morning snack. Just my two cents:) Carry on:)

on October 16, 2012

I try to only eat Ezekiel bread and I do keep it in the freezer and either thaw or toast it when I need. I like Raisin or Sesame the best but they are all good.

on October 16, 2012

I've never seen bread without sugar! Woo Hoo! But the last time I tried Ezekial bread, it was horrible. Maybe they've tweaked their recipe or I got a different brand. FYI, that label says 14 g of carbs instead of 21.8?

on October 16, 2012

3 points plus per slice! Really?! That is high! Most breads are 1 or 2 per slice. (I know that doesn't seem like much of a difference to most people, but if you consider the extra points for a sandwich when you only get an average of 30 points plus per day it makes a big difference.

I just calculated it to be 2 points plus per slice though based on the label provided... Hmmm

on October 16, 2012

since this bread contains soybeans, doesnt that make it a GMO product? Im just asking because ive read alooooot about that recently.

on October 16, 2012

you order it online from the website
www.foodforlife.com
I just went to trader joes and they carry some, but I wanted the sesame as most people like that the best and they were out

on October 16, 2012

I have the raisin/cinnamon Ezekiel bread with peanut butter pretty much every morning. I keep it in the freezer and toast it. Holds me for 3-4 hours. ❤❤ ❤

on October 17, 2012

if it is good enough for the bible it is good enough for me. I will try it for sure.

on October 17, 2012

My healthy husband turned me onto Ezekial bread a few years ago. It is really the best in so many ways. I've found the freezer is the best storage, too; it seems to dry out in the fridge. Toasted with a little olive oil & Tuscan spice makes an awesome snack!

on October 17, 2012

I like Canyon Bakehouse better! Mountain White or 7-Grain are both delicious and they have buns. And they are gluten free!

on October 19, 2012

I like this bread fine, I am fighting cancer and would like to find a bread without wheat, gluten or sugar, any suggestions?

on October 19, 2012

Ok, forget the Smart Carb bread. They changed the formulation, and it's absolutely horrible now; the texture is spongy and awful and the taste is bad; only 1 g. of fiber now instead of 12+. The owner (after I emailed and complained) said that they made the new formulation because diabetic customers couldn't tolerate the whey. That's nonsense; my husband is a Type 1 diabetic (shoots insulin 3X per day) and he tolerated it just fine. I think they really screwed up and won't admit it. Don't buy it!!

on November 1, 2012

I have been enjoying ezekiel bread for years. I buy it at our local Trader Joe's and it is not unreasonably priced. I suggest if you buy this you go home and put it in the fridge or freezer, since there are no preservatives it will mold quickly just sitting out. My favorite is the raisin bread, it makes an amazing breakfast toasted with a dab of butter or some natural peanut butter ! :o)

on November 1, 2012

Does all Ezekiel bread contain soy? I've been interested to try it since I've read that it's low on the glycemic index, but I'm allergic to soy.

on November 1, 2012

Unfortunately, Ezekiel Bread is falling for that stupid fad that consists in including flax seeds in everything, from bread to chips.
Nice way to get a daily dose of rancid oils.
Flax goes rancid the second it is processed.

on November 2, 2012

I LOVE Food For Life breads. I use the 7 Sprouted Grains -- toast it with a little butter and a small amount of jam if you need more sweetness. NUM. And I am not repelled by the packaging.

on November 5, 2012

Some folks who posted need take a deep breath....She was merely stating that the information on the front of the packaging is NOT the actual nutritional information, and she acknowledged that some people may like the Biblical representation, and some may not. I'm neutral in that regard, but if you're offended by her mere mentioning that others may think differently than you do re: this, please lighten up!

on November 15, 2012

I love Ezekiel wraps! I find them in the freezer section of our grocer in the organic area. But I don't use them for wraps. I make chips out of them. I brush some olive oil on, add some franks, cut into triangles and bake them on 400 till crisp. Serve it with Salsa and its a nice snack on friday night.

on January 10, 2013

I got a bad reaction to this bread,I am allergic to casein,nowhere did it say it had casein in,I wrote to the company but didn't get a reply.

on February 19, 2013

I recently purchased the Flax variety of Ezekiel Bread. First off, if you don't buy in to religion (as I do) just ignore the verses on the front, along with any other story that you find to be a way of controlling peoples lives.

This bread is full of nutrition, and just as long as you aren't looking for 20 grams of sugar in every bite you will certainly find that this does not taste like cardboard. Lots of fiber, and other great nutrition.

Everyone should give this a try. The $2 economy loaf of bread has nothing on this. Just be sure to store in the fridge or freezer, as suggested on the packaging.

on February 27, 2013

I live in the UK, I have not seen this SWG bread before, is there an alteritive?

on March 2, 2013

Cant buy the suggested bread in England.I use Vogel Bread which is very dense and Soda bread not sure how these would be rated

on May 14, 2013

How do you come up with 21.8 carbs when the package clearly states 14?

on May 15, 2013

Since these comments are a year old I thought I would add my two cents worth. My husband is working to lower his blood sugar levels and our daughter told us about the Ezekiel muffins. He eats one every morning for breakfast now. And we also have the Sesame Ezekiel bread which is great too! I highly recommend this product and yes you find it in your grocers freezer section. We keep it refrigerated too!

on June 11, 2013

Funny-I was stopped in the bread aisle at Whole Foods by a man who very enthusiastically preached the benefits of this brand. He sold me two packages - they should use his services:) It's great!

on June 11, 2013

It's really good toasted!! I like it with peanut butter, coconut oil, or grassfed butter! For my kids I sprinkle just a little bit of sugar with the butter and coconut oil..and they love it!

on June 11, 2013

Hi there i live in edmonton and i can not find this bread anywhere. Can someone suggest where is a good place to look?

on September 23, 2013

Kristina, I am a long way from Edmonton, so I can't help directly, but you might want to try googling Ezekial Bread and get the manufacturer's website- they often have a link that allows you to enter a zip code and will then direct you to sores in your area that carry the product. Good luck- it's worth the search! :)

on September 24, 2013

It amazes me how popular this bread is in the religious community. The actual recipe calls for it to be cooked with human dung and the purpose is to defile God's chosen people while they are slaves. Bread to punish, and we are eating this why?!

on November 14, 2013

This is some nasty tasting bread, it is always hard, dry and tasteless.

on November 26, 2013

This bread is so healthy it's worth storing it in the freezer! I feel bloated when using regular types of wheat bread. With this product line of healthy breads I feel no after effects! I store my bread in the fridge because I use it that fast. Once toasted it's great!

on December 16, 2013

I tasted the Ezekiel 4:9 at a neighbor's house and really liked it. My favorite by Food for Life bread is the "7 Sprouted Grains" which I keep in the fridge and only eat toasted. They make a really good raisin bread, also best toasted. I like heavier breads, so if you like the light fluffy stuff,this may not be for you.

on March 3, 2014

Get on board, folks it pays big
dividends to eat right and well. My son eats it now, but not because we told him. Some health food Dr. friend did. I am glad for him, he looks great and taking good care of himself. Thank you folks for your great bread and other products

on May 1, 2014

I love this bread. I usually buy the Orange and Green bags of Ezekiel. I toast it and sprinkle Olive Oil and Sea Salt on the bread. Soooooo yummy.

on May 27, 2014

It took a bit of getting used to, but now I literally can't go without it! I do enjoy it best when it's toasted and with a little real butter or as a breakfast sandwich with a fried egg and avocado. It is very dense and a bit dry, but the taste, no sugar, fiber, etc. is SO worth it!

on June 16, 2014

did anyone else get an itchy skin reaction to this bread? I don't know if I am allergic to casein, but it sounds like that is what affected Chris - Chris wrote "I got a bad reaction to this bread,I am allergic to casein,nowhere did it say it had casein in,I wrote to the company but didn't get a reply."

on August 22, 2014

I buy Trader Joe's sprouted 7-grain bread. It also has no sugar & 5g protein, but is about $2 cheaper than the Ezekial in other stores.

on May 19, 2015

I only eat Ezekiel bread but find it tastes best when toasted.

on July 16, 2015

Best bread ever!

on February 9, 2016

I really hate this bread. When I bought it, I died of a disease caused by eating moldy bread. Truly tragic, but I'm a ghost now, and that's real neato!

on April 5, 2016

Does anyone know where to find this bread baked over cow dung or human excrement? I want the real deal as mentioned in the bible (Ezekiel 4:7-15) but I don't own a poop oven.

on April 11, 2016

According to all known laws of aviation, there is no way a bee should be able to fly. Its wings are too small to get its fat little body off the ground. The bee, of course, flies anyway because bees don't care what humans think is impossible. Yellow, black. Yellow, black. Yellow, black. Yellow

on May 14, 2016

I like the bread very much. I don't like the quality control, or should I say, lack of quality control?
I buy a loaf every week to week and a half and it's a crap shoot on the quality of the loaf. The problem with the past two loaves is the middle 1/3 of the loaf is so dry and crumbly or the holes are so large that half the slice is missing. I have sent pictures and complaints to the company, but nothing is done. It's a shame. I think for $6 a loaf I should get better quality.

on May 19, 2016

The only problem I have with Ezekiel bread is the added Soy, which I am allergic too. Other than that, I'd buy it.

on July 24, 2016

Ihow can you even make a am tired of Ezekiel bread. I am paying for a full loaf (($5!!!!) and the entire Middle is completely missing.I can't make a sandwich, I picked it up and it falls apart leaving pattie in my hand. Unfortunately my store does not carry any other breads without toxic chemicals. for a religious company Ezekiel food for life is very unscrupulous. Many times called they couldn't care less. the problem is across the country. Why aren't you people calling them? Somebody needs to start a petition and make it go viral on the news.

on December 27, 2016

While it's true that religious bigots turn people off, I find wisdom in both the Bible and in Marx's Das Kapital and enjoy reading both of them! Why not?

on December 11, 2017

My kids hated this bread. The 8g of dietary fiber gave them the combination of the farts and the shits. It was open revolt when we tried to continue to buy it. We bumped it back to 15 grain instead. I really liked it, it made excellent excellent toast, sandwiches not so much as it's a tad brittle.

on April 17, 2018

There is some mishandling with the cinnamon raisin bread. Nutritional info reads zero fat.Govt allows for that if it is less than .05. Question is it .o499 or .02 or.2 what? Company will not disclose.

on October 16, 2018


Add a comment:

(required)

(required, never published)

(optional)


Welcome!

I'm Snack Girl and my website is devoted becoming healthier. I create recipes, review food products, and support those on a healthy journey.


 

Subscribe to Snack Girl's Free Newsletter

New subscribers get our exclusive list of 100 healthy snack ideas &


© 2019 Snack-Girl.com