Menu

Pasta Zero: Real Pasta For 15 Calories Per Serving?

June 18, 2013   39 Comments

Here I am again, playing the guinea pig. Why me?

Pasta Zero Review

I ask you that because I don’t get to sample fine wines or chocolates to review on this website. Instead, I get to try translucent, gelatinous, Japanese noodles. Argh.

I have reviewed this type of noodle before - Guilt Free Noodles And Rice: How Miraculous Are They? – but the company that made them, “Miracle” brand, is different from Nasoya.

Unlike the “Miracle” noodles, I can buy these at my local Stop & Shop and they are made with a few different ingredients. Also, they are 15 calories per four ounce serving versus ZERO.

Here is the ingredient list:

water, potato starch, konjac flour, chickpea flour, calcium hydroxide, reduced iron, folic acid

This is a bowl of Shirataki fettuccine:

The preparation is easy. You rinse them in a colander and then heat them in the microwave. Done.

What did I think? I liked these a lot more than the Miracle noodles. Why? The Pasta Zero noodles:

1. Do not smell like fish.
2. Are easier to prepare.
3. Taste pretty good.

I ate these with nothing on them, which I do not recommend. What I discovered is that Shirataki noodles are traditional noodles from Japan. These are not a strange creation dreamed up by a company for us to lose weight like “olestra”.

These do not remind me of Italian pasta. They do remind me of rice noodles and I think they would be great in a stir-fry or an Asian inspired dish such as Pad Thai.

On the Nasoya website there is an Asian Cold Noodle Salad that would be excellent with these.

If any of you have tried the Miracle noodles and found that they did not agree with you (digestive issues), give these a shot. I believe they are different enough to not cause you a problem.

Nasoya Pasta Zero is found in the produce section next to the tofu, and costs $2 for an 8 ounce bag.

Have you tried Pasta Zero? What do you think?

This product was received for review consideration. No other compensation was provided.


Other posts you might like:


Guilt Free Noodles And Rice: How Miraculous Are They?

Snack Girl is delving into the world of the zero calorie noodle. You heard me, ZERO calories....


Is This The Spaghetti of Your Dreams?

Want your pasta to be zero calories and still taste like pasta? Maybe I have found a solution....



Get Free Email Updates! Yes please!


39 Comments:

They don't have that fishy smell! I'm in! I tried the other noodles and the smell grosses me out! I'm going to look for these int he store next time I go! Thank you Snack Girl!!

on June 18, 2013

Dreamfields pasta is very good and one of the most healthiest, I am surprised I don't see it talked about more on the internet

on June 18, 2013

Never heard of konjac. I'll have to look it up.

I would be willing to try these. I think Shirataki noodles are the most DISGUSTING thing I have ever tasted! Felt and smelled like squid bait, only worse.

on June 18, 2013

I also buy Dreamfields pasta and am surprised I don't see it talked about more. It tastes fantastic and WILL remind you of italian pasta - because it is!! :)

on June 18, 2013

Wish we could get these where I live! The only ones we can get are the ones that are soy based - they give me the worst stomach pain in the world!!! So a note of caution to those with soy sensitivity - make sure you read the ingredients - lots of these have soy in them!

on June 18, 2013

I have tried these and keep trying to remember to get more. I occasionally get a craving for pasta and whole grain pasta is fine, but it's not what I crave.

Let me tell you these were wonderful with veggie marinara sauce!! I love them. I also used the other serving with my Thai Curried Veggies. I liked them enough to search out Nasoya's website and write a review! Sorry I didn't think to talk about it here. 8(

Bonnie

on June 18, 2013

I use House Foods shirataki noodles which I believe uses yam flour and has around 40 calories for the entire bag. you have to prep them just like tha Pasta Zero ones. They are better for Asian dishes and are a good ramen noodle replacement. I usually add them into Miso or

Asian Hot and Spice soup. Publix and my local International Farmer's market are the only places that I have seen that carry them.

on June 18, 2013

i have made the pasta zero several times. I rinsed then dried them a little. I added some red sauce which I made without oil etc. sauteed onion with pam, add canned crushed tomato, salt pepper, basil cook down and it's not bad

on June 18, 2013

Did not care for these. I prefer spaghetti squash. Better texture, very low in calories, and very easy to cook in the microwave, then save in the frig for sauces.

on June 18, 2013

I LOVE these noodles. I make a salmon stir fry with them and it's my favorite go to meal. They take on whatever sauce for flavorings you add to them. I have to say, they do have a smell when you first open the package. Make sure you rinse them very well and the smell goes away. Also, they are very long strands. I take some scissors and cut them in little pieces.

on June 18, 2013

Konjac

http://www.konnyaku.com/e_data/konjac2.html

Calcium Hydroxide

Read the "Executive Summary"

http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/wq/pesticides/final_pesticid…

on June 18, 2013

I've tried the Shirataki noodles, but I couldn't get past the texture. The mouth feel was like slimy rubber. Here's hoping that these are better.

on June 18, 2013

I've been eating these for about 3 years give or take and it is great for when you have that Spaghetti and meatball type craving. It does the trick. If I don't have that then I use a spaghetti squash.

on June 18, 2013

The key with these is to DRY THEM VERY WELL! Mulitple changes of paper towels dry them well before adding sauce.... red sauce, pesto, anything you would put on regular pasta. Not bad for once in a while.

on June 18, 2013

Have you reviewed the "Skinny Girl" Wines? I hear they're pretty good but haven't the nerve to try them. Would love to see a review first before buying. I mean you can get paid for trying them or maybe write them off on your taxes in the name of Snack Girl. Just looking out for you so you are always stuck tasting pasta. LOL http://skinnygirlcocktails.com/the-cocktails/the-wine-colle…

on June 18, 2013

Both these and the miracle noodles I think are fine in Asian type dishes. I usually do a shrimp stir fry with lots of veggies and some fish sauce and rice vinegar. Curry noodles, also good and Pho-type soup. DO NOT try to make Italian with them. I prep both types of noodles by rinsing them very well in a colander, letting them drip-dry in the colander, adding them to the food a few minutes before the end of cooking. I have never tried to dry them with towels.

on June 18, 2013

Just love Dreamfields. Not cheap, but wonderful, real pasta, low digestable carbs and very filling. I have given this to several diabetic friends and they all love it too.

on June 18, 2013

I too tried the Shirataki and hated them. Will give these a try.

on June 18, 2013

I too found the yam / shirataki noodles to be un-edible.

I then moved to Sea Tangle's Kelp noodles.. if you don't mind the crunchiness, they're great.. they have no flavor, so whatever you pair them with is what you get!

on June 18, 2013

I hope I can find these to try! I just took a cooking class at a Dierbergs and they had all of the Skinny Girl cocktails available to sample. I prefered the red wine over both the Moscato and the Sangria. As far as the ready to serves I loved the SG Cosmo.

on June 18, 2013

To the person who asked about Skinny Girl wines.......I tried the Skinny Girl wines and sangria. Four words. Do. Not Do. It.

on June 18, 2013

Followed a blog of a guy who lost almost 200 lbs eatig these noodles. He said trick is to put them in a non-stick skillet with just a little pam and heat them until they dry out. THEN put your sauce, etc. on. I tried it and it's actually MUCH better than just heating them. It takes awhile for them to dry but is worth the wait. Not like pasta but not bad. :)

on June 18, 2013

I can't find these in my local market. I went on the website and the stores they tell me to go to, just don't sell them. I'm frustrated.

on June 19, 2013

I reviewed those last year for another blogger was not impressed with them at all. I did try NoOdles, those were really good.

on June 21, 2013

Ick. I tried it and had a hard time even swallowing it. The texture was awful. And I actually thought it had a strong, fishy smell.

on June 21, 2013

I love Dreamfields. I noticed other posts have mentioned them too. They offer a low 5 grams of carbs per serving pasta in several variations, penne, fettuccine, spaghetti, rotini,etc. They are a staple in my pantry. It would be great if you reviewed their nutritional value and gave us your thoughts. Thanks!

on June 26, 2013

Angie - regarding Dreamfield pasta:

http://www.dietdoctor.com/the-dreamfields-pasta-fraud

on August 28, 2013

I hope that all this staffs that I had known in this section will help me in my diet programs. Thanks for sharing this post of yours! :)

on September 2, 2013

To the ones who brought up Dreamfields pasta: it's been exposed as a fraud. Turns out they're lying about "protected carbs being made indigestible" and it's digested just the same way as regular pasta. So just go ahead and count every last one of those 40+ carbs in a serving of Dreamfields.

http://www.dietdoctor.com/the-dreamfields-pasta-fraud

Guess I'll stick with shirataki noodles until someone actually does invent a low-carb Italian pasta.

on September 20, 2013

I bought it here, and today i found better deal here: http://global.rakuten.com/en/search?st=&tl=0&k=pasta+zero

on September 24, 2013

For those of you who have mentioned using dreamfields pasta, check out this link. Looks like it's not all it claims to be.

http://www.dietdoctor.com/the-dreamfields-pasta-fraud

on January 23, 2014

I could not imagine using these noodles as a replacement for pasta, such as in spaghetti. However, in my Asian/American fusion dishes, as well as my curry dishes, they are excellent. I just rinse them very well and then throw them into my mixing bowl with a generous sprinkle of onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper. I let that dry on the noodles for a bit and then quick dry fry them in the wok (e.g., heat up the wok (NO OIL) and then just drop them in, turning frequently). Once done I add them to my Asian or curry dish and they are excellent. I often cut them down to a smaller size prior to seasoning and cooking.

on August 18, 2014

Love them! My family fought over them when I served them stir-fry style.

on September 11, 2014

All those who have mentioned Dreamfields Pasta as "LOW CARB" or "DIABETIC FRIENDLY" please take note: YOU ARE SORELY MISTAKEN!!!! The company the produces Dreamfields Pasta was sued on 07/22/2013 for listing FALSE nutritional information on the boxes. They settled the class action lawsuit against them earlier this year (2014) for $7.9 MILLION dollars! This product is absolutely LOADED with CARBS because IT IS REAL PASTA. If you are diabetic or trying to stick to a low-carb diet, you should not bet eating Dreamfields Pasta. If you are card sensitive stay away far, far away from this stuff (Dreamfields). Don't believe me...? Then check out the following website which has links to the lawsuit: http://low-carb-scams.com/dreamfields-or-nightmares/

on September 26, 2014

Ok I have the noodle and I am going to try them today. One problem I have with the Dreamfields Noodles is it says it is made from wheat and it states on the website by American Farmers. Everyone knows that the wheat made in the United States is GMO wheat. There isnt any real wheat here in teh USA unless it is imported and then it is very expensive.

on February 12, 2015

I tried these tonight. I found them surprisingly good. I put a little spicy sausage sauce on them. I ate the whole bag and still came in under 300 calories. Most all of the calories came from the sausage. I will be buying these more often. Glad I discovered them.

on May 12, 2015

It's unfair to compare these to dreamfields pasta because it is totally different kind of pasta. This particular brand of pasta has a lot fewer calories and more fiber per serving than dreamfields pasta. Dreamfields is pasta the other is technically a shirataki noodle and is made from something totally different. However, If You're Comparing Them To Other Shirataki Noodles in my opinion this brand is much better.

on January 1, 2016

Dreamfields pasta is not low carb:

https://www.dietdoctor.com/the-dreamfields-pasta-fraud

on February 21, 2017

I made some for lunch and have had pretty bad bathroom issues pretty severe. has anyone else had this problem?

on June 19, 2018


Add a comment:

(required)

(required, never published)



© 2021 Snack-Girl.com