Siggi’s Yogurt Review

Siggi’s Yogurt Review

September 28, 2017   17 Comments

This siggi’s yogurt review was inspired by my walk through the supermarket. I am constantly blown away by how much changes on a monthly basis in the dairy cooler.

Siggi’s is a Icelandic style yogurt (Skyr) and I have never been to Iceland (or had yogurt in Iceland) so I have no idea how it compares to the yogurt there.

What I do know is how Siggi’s compares to yogurt here. It should be compared to Greek yogurt (also I have been to Greece but I didn’t try the yogurt – ooops) because of they high amount of protein in a cup.

I have been invited to meet Siggi Himarsson (and actual person) twice and I have never been free. He attended Columbia Business School in New York and saw an opportunity in the yogurt world. He felt that our yogurt had too much sugar added – heck, yeah!

If I finally get free and attend a “meet and greet” with him – I think I would say something like, “Thank you!” because he has provided the market with a great product.

You can see (above) that Siggi makes sure that you know what is not in his yogurt.

It does have a lot less sugar than many of the major brands. It averages 11 grams of sugar for 5.3 ounces (and other brands start at 13 -15 grams).

Siggi’s is thick and creamy and some also think it is chalky (like Greek yogurt). I find it sour but I love it.

It has more flavor than most yogurts. There is a TANG to it which is truly delicious.

Here is the nutrition information for the black cherry flavor with 2% milkfat:

140 calories, 3 g fat, 1.5 g saturated fat, 15 g carbohydrates, 11 g sugar, 15 g protein, 0 g fiber, 60 mg sodium, 5 SmartPts

The non-fat versions have about 20 less calories and taste pretty good – but I like the one with a little fat in it. I find these quite satisfying.

Siggi’s used to be in a higher price range than Chobani or Dannon but I found it at 5 for $5 last week. I think if you look for sales – you can find it at a comparable price. It is in Target and regular supermarkets (used to be only in Whole Foods).

When I was cruising around the store, I found this other Icelandic yogurt:

This one featured that it was “Made with Heirloom Skyr Cultures - developed with Iceland’s oldest farmer-owned dairy cooperative.” Wow!

It seems that THIS is actual Skyr and siggi's is "Icelandic style" because Icelandic Provisions uses Skyr cultures (and siggi's must be using some other cultures).

The yogurt is made in upstate New York but they flew in some cultures from Iceland to make it authentic. I wonder if they flew business class.

The Icelandic Provisions nutrition facts and ingredients are almost exactly the same as siggi’s (except that they added locust bean gum which is fishy). The flavor was not as rich as siggi’s but it had the same texture. It cost a little bit more.

I am going to stick with siggi’s as my favorite but keep an eye on this one just in case siggi's gets bought by Unilever (yes, I am looking at you Stonyfield).

Have you tried Icelandic Skyr? What do you think?


Make Eating Well Fun and Easy! Subscribe


17 Comments:

I think this would be a yogurt to culture my homemade yogurt! It's not in my neighborhood, but I can keep an eye out for it when I'm out of town. Yogurt freezes, so I could buy and freeze to use when needed.

on September 28, 2017

In my area I found it 2 for 4. As for siggis getting brought out, who knows?

on September 28, 2017

Thanks for your review! I see Siggis in the store all the time but have never picked it up - I’ll have to give it a try!

on September 28, 2017

I love Siggi's too. Sadly its hard to find here & the store I was getting it at has quit selling it...
I have added cottage cheese to it for even more protein & it does taste quite good (not a cottage cheese fan)!

on September 28, 2017

I've tried Siggi's and really like it - good flavor & ingredients. But, like you, I will only buy it if it is on sale! Also, like Chobani. I've been adding a couple of tablespoons of oatmeal, a splash of milk & dash of cinnamon to a cup of fruit yogurt in the morning if I haven't had the chance to make overnight oats with plain yogurt. The oats definitely keep you full longer.

on September 28, 2017

I have several friends and their children with Diabetes who love Siggis. As a lover of Greek Yogurt, I love this brand of thicker yogurt. As a Nutritionist I recommend the Plain Non fat version and mix in fresh fruit or Vanilla Extract or PB2

on September 28, 2017

Love Siggi's. Just bought the largest container of the plain. I add my own fruit or powder peanut butter and put on chocolate rice cakes dusted with cinnamon. Yum

on September 28, 2017

I have been eating Siggis since it came out, I was buying fat free and my
Nutritionist told me to eat the 2 or 4% because it's better to have a little fat and have been doing that a long time, if you sign up for their newsletter they give you a coupon and also give them again every once in awhile. I also love Icelandic but it's soooooooooo hard to find.

on September 28, 2017

I read the post that is sufficient for diabetics. Curious why you said this as it has a lot of sugar? So if one loves Greek yogurt is it better to eat Siggis or plain but adding fresh fruit might give too much sugar. Please advise.

on September 28, 2017

Chobani's is an international hero, imo. They saved a town when they started up a defunct factory, trained and hired the townspeople. But then they also expanded so they could hire the large number of immigrants the State had committed to....and didn't know what to do with. And for that they had to hire a lot of interpreters. THe owner is also an immigrant...and he gave all his employees a 10% ownnership stake in the company in 2016.

on September 28, 2017

I don't think of this yogurt as a significant source of calcium. Comparing its 15% of your daily requirement from the "plain" flavor to Trader Joe's European style's 45% or Nancy's plain nonfat, also 45%, it seems on the low side. Siggi's serving size is only 5.3 oz while the others mentioned above is 8 oz so if you were eat an equal amount of Siggi's (1 1/2 containers) you would be getting 22% of your daily calcium. I do agree it's a better choice than a lot of the other yogurts but there are no additives in the TJ's or Nancy's yogurts either so, if you need to get your calcium from yogurt, you can find a better source than Siggi's.

on September 28, 2017

Very tasty! I do like knowing it's a healthy product. I also add cottage cheese; not only it it healthy, it tastes a bit like cheesecake!

on September 28, 2017

Lisa have you tried Norrskyrr? Same type of product but I think it’s even better than Siggi. Try the elderberry

on September 28, 2017

Great post Lisa! I love Siggi's! I eat one vanilla a day, and really love that it is so much lower in sugar than any other I've found. I love the tang, and often add my own fresh fruit or berries. Note that the foil top on the individual cups, at least in my area, has had $1 off on 4 coupons on them for at least a year. Makes it more affordable!

on September 28, 2017

Perfect timing, I have a coupon!

on September 28, 2017

i have tried both of these yogurts and have them in my fridge as we speak. i love both of them especially the key lime flavor. siggis also has a triple cream yogurt which is excellent. just like a dessert

on September 29, 2017

I love the full fat Siggi's. I was recently told I was pre-diabetic so the lower sugar is a good thing and the extra fat helps to keep my blood sugar more stable. I hope the price will drop once it becomes more popular.

on September 29, 2017


Add a comment:

(required)

(required, never published)

(optional)


Hi, I'm Snack Girl and my website is devoted to making eating well fun. I create recipes, review food, and talk a lot about how to best journey down the healthy road.


 

100+ Healthy Snack Ideas


© 2017 Snack-Girl.com