Built Bar Review

Built Bar Review

April 8, 2019   29 Comments

This Built Bar review was inspired by a bunch of comments on a previous post.

I wrote What Are the Best Protein Bars for Weight Loss? based on all the bars that looked good at my local Whole Foods.

I was looking for bars that tasted good, had a high amount of protein, and weren’t high in calories. Two years ago, I took a look at thinkThin here: thinkThin High Protein Bars Review.

I must say I had never heard of Built protein bars until Helene wrote this on my protein bar post:

Built Bars are only 3 points for the whole bar, not that I would eat it at once. I purchased the Double Chocolate Mousse, Chocolate Raspberry Creme, and the Chocolate Strawberry Creme. They have a marshmallowy consistency when you bite into them - delicious. I've also tried cutting them up into 6 pieces and putting them into the freezer. Feels like a little treat to grab a piece.

How could I not try them? Marshmallow? Treat? In a protein bar? I was pretty excited when my box arrived.

The only way to buy them is online at Built Bar and that is probably why I hadn’t seen them before.

I bought a sample box of 6 bars for $9.95 BUT you can only buy this once. If you fall in love and want another mixed box, you can buy 18 bars for $36.

These are very different from most of my previous forays into the protein bar world. Here are the nutrition facts for one bar:

110 calories, 4.0 g fat, 2.5 g saturated fat, 13 g carbohydrates, 4 g sugar, 15 g protein, 6 g fiber, 3 mg sodium, 3 Freestyle SmartPts

Here are the ingredients: protein mix (whey protein isolate (milk), partially hydrolyzed whey protein isolate, gelatin, dark chocolate (chocolate liquor, sugar, cocoa butter, lechithin, vanillin), water, erythritol, glycerin, maltodextrin, natural flavor, citric acid

Somehow the makers of Built Bar made a product that reminds me of a 3 Musketeers bar but it doesn’t have sugar or fat. The texture is like a marshmallow and it is wrapped in chocolate.

The chocolate actually tastes like chocolate - no small feat in the protein bar world.

I tried a couple of flavors - the chocolate mousse (photo above) and the raspberry chocolate creme. I liked the raspberry flavor better. I don’t like mint and chocolate so I knew I wasn’t going to like the mint chocolate creme which tasted like toothpaste.

What can I say? I think these are better cold but they taste pretty good for what the ingredients might indicate. Initially, I thought they would taste like a science experiment but they remind me of candy. I am actually surprised about how much these tasted like a childhood treat. As an adult, my treats have gotten more sophisticated (think dark chocolate squares) so these don't hit my happy spot but I can see how people would love these.

I have a small reaction to erthritol (tummy trouble) that I did not get with these bars probably because they don’t use that much of it. I would not eat two in a day just to be on the safe side.

Overall, I think these are a good choice especially if you are a candy lover and want to wean yourself off of it. I like the idea of slicing these bars into pieces and having a chunk when you are craving something sweet. That way, you don’t eat too much of it at once and you save yourself some money.

Do I think these are the best choice? I would still try to go with unprocessed food (like an apple with peanut butter) when you can. But, I would stash one of these in my purse for those long days when I can’t bring along something fresh.

Have you tried Built Bars? What is your review?

Other posts you might like:


What are the Best Protein Bars for Weight Loss?

What are the Best Protein Bars for Weight Loss?

What are the best protein bars for weight loss? I can tell you that there are a TON of options.....


thinkThin High Protein Bars Review: Are They a Healthy Choice?

thinkThin High Protein Bars Review: Are They a Healthy Choice?

There are so many bars on the market and a reader asked me if I thought thinkThin high protein bars are a healthy choice.....



Get Free Email Updates! Yes please!


First 20 Comments: [ see all 29 ]

I absolutely LOVE these bars. Coconut is my favorite. My husband likes the salted caramel. It's a great bang for your 3 WW points buck!

on April 9, 2019

I had never heard of the Built bars until your protein bar review. I love the Built bars! The coconut is my favorite. The consistency reminds me of a cream filled Easter egg. And unlike other bars, I don’t get the digestive issues that I do with most bars. I’m on my 2nd full order. I just wish they were available in the stores. Thanks snack girl for your product reviews!

on April 9, 2019

I’m that rare bird that doesn’t fancy them. One bite, and I taste chemicals. I have 2 boxes gathering dust in my kitchen. I would rather have an apple with peanut butter.

on April 9, 2019

I want to try these, but unfortunately, they aren't vegetarian-friendly. They look and sound so good!

on April 9, 2019

$2.00 is too much for a protein bar.

on April 9, 2019

I really wanted to like these after hearing how wonderful they are. After all they look so good and they are low in points... I’m sorry to say that I found them to be disgusting! I thought maybe it was just the first bite so I took another bite and proceeded to throw the rest of the bar away...Now I have almost a whole box that I paid good money for!

on April 9, 2019

Have to add my two cents worth. I love the flavor of the bars (I also tried the mixed selection) but I can’t get past the consistency. I tried them cut into pieces and frozen- dangerous for me with crowns and fillings; I ended up trying to let them melt in my mouth. That’s impossible, they are too gelatinous. As much as I like the flavor, i won’t order them again due to the consistency.

on April 9, 2019

I actually do love mint and chocolate together, (Andes mints and York peppmint patties are some of my faves!) and I found some Special K protein bars at Walmart in the granola bar area and they are a new fave! They have that same fluffy inside consistency you’re talking about. I grab those as a treat instead of a candy bar to satisfy my sweet tooth. They’re not overly sweet, either. Think Andes mint with about 1/3 less sweetness in a candy bar format. Insides are like a 3 Musketeers bar. $5.50 for a box of 5. Only 8g of protein but works great for a snack. They’re on the bottom shelf at my Walmart so you may have to hunt if you want to try them!

on April 9, 2019

Thanks to everyone for sharing their perspective. I did not find the consistency off-putting but I can see how one would. These are a love them or hate them kinda product.

on April 9, 2019

I hated them.

on April 9, 2019

I bought both the sample and a box of assorted. Some flavors I like and some not so much. Haven't tried them frozen yet. Expensive, but worth it when I'm working WW seriously. Erythritol is one of the few artificial sweeteners I can eat without digestive problems, but probably only 1 bar per day.

on April 9, 2019

I really love these bars. I especially love the Chocolate Moose and my second favorite choice is salted caramel. It's hard for me to believe that there are only three points. I usually eat a half at one sitting to help me ward off my cravings. I did not care for the lemon, raspberry, or chocolate mint. I highly recommend you giving them a shot.

on April 9, 2019

I really love these bars. I especially love the Chocolate Mousse and my second favorite choice is salted caramel. It's hard for me to believe that there are only three points. I usually eat a half at one sitting to help me ward off my cravings. I recently brought them with me for a trip to Russia and Israel and they were perfect, anytime I was hungry I would eat a half and it would really keep me full for like an hour. I did not care for the lemon, raspberry, or chocolate mint. I highly recommend you giving them a shot. By the way they are covered with real dark chocolate.

on April 9, 2019

Ugh erthritol. My body can't handle it at ALL. i think it's really dangerous, especially for people who have problems with food (as in, tendency to over-eat). It can make you REALLY ill. I'll pass on this, thanks!

on April 9, 2019

I bought the sample box and cut them into bite size pieces for my family to try. Unfortunately not 1 of the 4 of us really liked any of them. I didn't like them at all.

on April 9, 2019

Our favorite real food protein bars are SO EASY!!! 1 cup real peanut butter, 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1/2 cup flaxseed meal, 1/4 cup honey, dash of cinnamon and salt. I add 1/2 cup mix-ins like chopped dark chocolate or dried fruit. Press into 8x8 square pan and refrigerate before cutting into bars. So easy, delicious, and it's real food!

on April 9, 2019

There are oodles of DIY protein bar recipes -- and you control the ingredients (e.g. real food). For example, a link to 11 recipes: https://dailyburn.com/life/recipes/homemade-protein-bar-rec…

Link to 15 DIY "Larabar" recipes: https://mywholefoodlife.com/2015/06/22/15-diy-larabar-recip…

Personally, I got burned out on protein bars years ago and prefer eating a banana with some nut butter, or cottage cheese with berries, or wilted greens with veggies and legumes in a chicken or veggie broth. Cheers!

on April 9, 2019

Snack Girl, I'm glad you gave them a shot. I agree with Dawn and Jessica, nothing can replace "real food" as a snack; however, there are times when you just can't carry/travel with fresh food. I don't believe in using processed food/protein bars as meal replacements, but in a pinch, I find a bite or two of the Built bar to be a great alternative - and it has a lot less calories than nuts which I love, but tend to overeat.

on April 9, 2019

I ordered these right away, and tried the chocolate moose (I love dark chocolate). I had put in the freezer for a couple of hours. I found it so delicious, and the texture was similar to the soy or cashew milk ice cream bar I would have had as part of my usual evening snack. I ate 1/2 of a bar and was satisfied. I'm going to try them all in the sample, then order my favorites. I am usually sensitive to sorbitol (gassy, bloating, etc...), but the erthritol didn't seem to bother me. Maybe because of only eating 1/2 a bar.

on April 12, 2019

I ordered the sample box. LOVED these! Especially the chocolate mousse and the vanilla.

on April 12, 2019

See all 29 Comments


Add a comment:

(required)

(required, never published)


Welcome!

I'm Snack Girl and my website is devoted becoming healthier. I create recipes, review food products, and support those on a healthy journey.


 

Subscribe to Snack Girl's Free Newsletter

New subscribers get our exclusive list of 100 healthy snack ideas &


© 2019 Snack-Girl.com