Menu

Love Cheese? Try This 35 Calorie Alternative

April 18, 2012   75 Comments

When you get people talking about their favorite cheese, stars start forming in their eyes.

Laughing Cow Cheese Wedge Review

Vermont cheddar, French Brie, and Dutch Gouda are all favorites. I must admit that my love of cheese is one of the reasons for the tire around my waist. Especially in winter, all I want is cheese.

I have tried my share of low fat cheeses for this website. All of them up to this point have tasted like salted rubber or there is an after taste that is just plain gross.

But, I hadn't tried "The Laughing Cow" Light until they sent me a round of their "French Onion" flavor. I did MEET The Laughing Cow once at a conference see here:

meandlaughingcow

After that ridiculous photo op - I took a photo of this sign because it made me laugh:

explorebeef

But, I digress.

I tried the French Onion Light and was like, "Where have you been hiding?". It actually tasted like cheese! And, I can spread it on 10 rounds of cucumber to make a very low calorie and cheesy snack.

It is salty, creamy, and with a dash of paprika - almost gourmet. Seriously.

My pal Marla doesn't like the texture (too creamy for her to consider it cheese) but she says she buys the "Original" for her kids. My kids started eating my cheese - which was $3 for 8 ounces at my local grocery store. They like the pre-portioned triangle shape.

Here is the ingredient list:
Light cheddar, cheddar, swiss, and semisoft cheeses (cultured milk and skim milk, salt, enzymes), whey, cream, sodium phosphate, onion, sodium citrate, salt, natural flavor

and the nutrition facts for one wedge:
35 calories, 1.5 g fat, 1 g carbohydrates, 2 g protein, 0 g fiber, 210 mg sodium, 1 Points+

I found them in the dairy section next to the cream cheese in my local supermarket. For a cheese lover who needs to cut back - this is a great option.

Have you tried Laughing Cow? What do you think?

This product was received for review consideration. No other compensation was provided.

laughingcowb

Cheese And Cracker Makeover

(no reviews yet)

(serves 1)
1/2 cucumber
1 wedge "The Laughing Cow" French Onion Cheese Wedge
paprika (optional)

Peel cucumber and slice 10 slices. Spread cheese on cucumber, add a dash of paprika, and serve!

58 calories, 2.2 g fat, 6.5 g carbohydrates, 3.5 g protein, 0.8 g fiber, 263 mg sodium, 1 Points+

Points values are calculated by Snack Girl and are provided for information only. See all Snack Girl Recipes

Other posts you might like:


cheese stick

The Benefits of Cheese Sticks

The nice thing about individually packaged food is that you know exactly how many calories you are going to inhale....


Elegant, Easy, and Under 100 Calories

When you get tired of your apple and peanut butter, you need to go gourmet for your snack....



Get Free Email Updates! Yes please!


75 Comments:

I love laughing cow cheese! They came out with a new flavor....cream cheese. My daughter will eat that on a bagel and I think it is better for her than the regular brand of cream cheese.

There is not a day that goes by that I dont' have cheese! Love it!!

on April 18, 2012

Actually since 2 wedges are only 1 Point Plus I have 2 of these every day and I dunk my apple wedges in them for my late-afternoon-before- dinner-afterschool-when-I'm-starving snack! Very satisfying and only costs me the 1 PP. I love the spicy Queso Fresco Chipotle one as well, which I dunk bell pepper slices in.

on April 18, 2012

I live in Ireland and Laughing Cow cheese is the one thing that helps me cope with the restricted cheese in my diet. Brie and Goats Cheese are my total favorites! On the Weight Watchers programme over here (ProPoints which is slightly different to PointsPlus) Laughing Cow Light is zero points for a triangle. It is delicious spread over some plain rice cakes and piled high with tomato, scallion, cucumber and red pepper. I love it!

on April 18, 2012

This looks incredible! Thank you.

on April 18, 2012

Love, love, love Laughing Cow cheese! Not just for snacking but in recipes, too. Hungry Girl has tons of recipes using Laughing Cow. Check out her Shrimp and Grits. Yummy!

on April 18, 2012

I love Laughing Cow! I make an 'alfredo' sauce with it and fat free evaporated milk. Put it on whole grain pasta with broccoli and grilled chicken and it's delicious!

on April 18, 2012

I'll be honest, I've never given Laughing Cow much thought, because I assumed it'd be too different from cheese. But I really may have to try the cucumbers -- that sounds delicious

on April 18, 2012

I love Laughing Cow wedges, as a snack or in recipes. A standby item for me

on April 18, 2012

I love the Bleu Cheese one on pears.

on April 18, 2012

Cheese isn't meant to be "low-fat" or "light." It's the fat in cheese that keeps you full. Contrary to popular belief, fat doesn't make you fat. If you ate whole milk cheese (preferably raw) you'd probably eat a lot less and still be satisfied (plus it's delicious!).

on April 18, 2012

I buy them at Sams Club---much, much cheaper than the store. Staple in my house!

on April 18, 2012

Laughing Cow is one of my staples. Babybel Light is awesome too....very portable in the red wax coating!

The best use for LC though is giving my dog her pill in it. She won't chew a pill, but in half a wedge of LC she gobbles it right up!

on April 18, 2012

Haha Kris!! My dog gets HIS pill in it also...he likes it better than PB!!!

on April 18, 2012

One of my favorite snacks is to spred the laughing cow (light creamy Swiss) onto apple slices. Yum! Yum!

on April 18, 2012

Thank you for the review! I l love the LC wedges! And as Kris mentioned, also the babybel cheeses. I has to the cheese on a cucumber, sounds like a yummy light snack!

Regarding cheese, is the fat in cheese "healthy fat"?

on April 18, 2012

I have loved laughing cow cheeses for YEARS! I mix the Queso Fresco Chipotle with fat free salsa and eat it with celery or Triscuit thins for a great snack. I buy them at Sams club where it's cheaper to buy the 3 pack than the individual at the market

on April 18, 2012

I love your post, which I shared on my facebook wall,twitter and on pinterest.

Have a great day.

on April 18, 2012

Love the French Onion & have the Queso Fresco Chipotle in the fridge as well. Great on whole-wheat crackers or leftover beef sandwiches, but I'll have to try it on cucumbers. Yummy & guilt-free!

on April 18, 2012

Make Mac and cheese with this! It's perfect for it.

on April 18, 2012

I love laughing cow! I use it on my turkey burgers as a cheese/mayo substitute. I actually packed a wedge of the garlic & herb in my lunch today. I love all the flavors.

on April 18, 2012

i dont know what i would do without laughing cow!!! I use it on everything! I especially love to use it in tuna salads or egg salads. the new bleu cheese flavor is my favorite!

on April 18, 2012

I love Laughing Cow too! Among other uses, I've tried spreading it on bread to make grilled cheese, yum! Thanks for letting us know about the new flavor, I will give it a try :)

on April 18, 2012

I love the french onion flavor. I use one wedge with a little bit of plain no-fat greek yogurt in one can of tuna instead of mayo!

on April 18, 2012

I love laughing cow cheese!! My favorite is the Chipotle!! Now I want some cheese with cucumbers!

on April 18, 2012

La Vache Qui Rit was a popular cheese when I studied in for a semester in '97. I liked it then and am happy to have it here now!

I like how everyone is offering up their ideas on how to use them! I like the sundried tomato & basil one stuffed in colored mini peppers in the summer. The blue cheese one is great mixed with a can of chicken or leftover chicken and with a little Frank's hot sauce for some buffalo chicken dip.

I agree with Cristina, though, that cheese isn't meant to be low-fat or light. Normally, I don't like any low-fat/light cheeses. They have a lot of extra additives and don't melt well! (However, I do like Laughing Cow as a spreadable option.)

I highly recommend "The Fat Fallacy" by Will Clower. It changed my mind about the fat-free/low-fat craze!

on April 18, 2012

I found a knockoff at Aldi and it's great, too! Their wedges are a bit smaller and only 25 cals each. Just one flavor, though. What a good idea to put it on cukes with paprika. That's a keeper idea! I like to use the wedges on my sandwiches and especially in wraps... it keeps the wraps stuck together when i roll them and serves as my cheese and my creamy so i can skip the mayo and still feel like it's there. I found some Ezekiel break tortilla wraps that are out of this world! I love those babies piled high with fresh veggies and some LC wedges inside and some deli meat and i'm in heaven. Mmmm. Lunch, anyone?

on April 18, 2012

Ha, I'm a Marla too and I personally LOVE Laughing Cow. The queso fresco and chipotle flavor is REALLY good when melted, and I use the garlic and herb flavor as a cream cheese substitute almost daily. Right now I'm stalking their new cream cheese flavors, hoping they'll appear in one of my local grocery stores any minute now...(there's a strawberry one that I'm dying to try...). Oh and the BabyBel rounds are also very good!

on April 18, 2012

Buying the multi packs at Sam's or Costco is far cheaper than a single pack in the store! Unfortuneatly you don't always have a variety choice :( Love this cheese! You can substitute it in so many recipes for breakfast, lunch, snacks dinner!

on April 18, 2012

I recently bought some cinnamon flavored hadn't seen it before but my husband keeps stealing it!

on April 18, 2012

Laughing cow is great -- I buy it at BJ's where it's much cheaper than the grocery store. And... the great news is that 2 wedges of the light is still only one WW point!!

on April 18, 2012

A wedge of the garlic and herb smeared on half of a light toasted whole grain english muffin and topped with a few bits of roasted pepper--now THAT'S a satisfying snack and all for under 100 calories!

on April 18, 2012

I'm so glad you did an article on cheese! I LOVE cheese and have been struggling trying to find a way to incorporate it into my diet. I always see these laughing cow cheeses and have wondered how good they were (and how good for you). I'm definitely going to pick some up on my next trip to the store. Thank you!!

on April 18, 2012

I love Laughing Cow so much! My favorite is the Light Swiss wedge-perfect to dip carrot sticks in. I also substitute the wedges for other cheese in wraps and even "grilled" cheese in the oven. yum!

on April 18, 2012

Hey, have you laughed today? :) And they've come out with a range of cream cheese triangles with flavors like garden vegetable, cinnamon cream.... portion control and portable! Yay!

on April 18, 2012

Hey, have you laughed today? :) And they have come out with new cream cheese triangles....in flavors like garden vegetable and cinnamon cream. Portion control and portable! Yay!

on April 18, 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE Laughing Cow! I have about 10 packages in my fridge right now! All kinds of flavors! I love their new Cinnamon Creme flavor (has 45 calories) .... I put it on mini cinnamon bagels, add some fresh fruit and my morning beverage and I am good to go for under 200 calories and quick out the door breakfast. Costco has the cheapest price on these but you have to buy it in bulk pack. Their expiration date is into the next decade (LOL!) so doesn't matter. If you watch for sales on these, you can get them even cheaper as they tend to be a bit pricey in regular grocery store every day sales price. Walmart also has a good price and I find my local Walgreens, Sav-On and other big chain drug stores sometimes has great sales on these as well in their food section. So does Trader Joe's. I stock up when I see a sale -- my regular store price is $3.29 but I almost always can find these for $1.88 or $1.99 on sale at the above places and my Costco has that price for bulk! I can't even remember the last time I paid grocery store price. They also do not need refrigeration, so you can put them in your purse (they do get mushy soft) for a quick snack on the road. I put them in a little plastic container with a snap lid, cheese wedge, couple of crackers, a small tangelo or apple and I am ready to face any hunger dragon I may meet on my day of errands.

on April 18, 2012

I'm a fan of all the flavors (haven't found the cream cheese yet, but I'm psyched for that!), and my daughter loves the herb one in particular. I often have 1 wedge on a Wasa cracker when I'm craving something salty & crunchy. Pretty satisfying! The blue cheese and spicy chipotle (or something similar) are quite tasty.

on April 18, 2012

We keep loads of it in our fridge from Sam's Club and have spread them on cukes by themselves or on Wasa with the cukes on top. :)) Yummy!

on April 18, 2012

I LOVE all the Laughing Cow Lite varities. Crystal Farms also makes a similar product now, with several flavors. They're good too, and much cheaper.

on April 18, 2012

I love Laughing Cow! Try making fake fettuccine alfredo with it! It's delicious!

on April 18, 2012

While it is true that fat doesn't make you fat, we eat way way way too much fat for a healthy diet and especially saturated fats which are a part of cheese. If we can cut the fat content and still have a tasty snack - which is still filling then I say go for it. True, sometimes only *regular* cheese will do ... but when the option is to choose less fat or lite cheese for the every day snack ... I think that is a healthy choice we can count on.

on April 18, 2012

I have tried the Crystal Farms cheese wedges (all flavors) and I find them to be an odd texture (slick, waxy) and the flavor not as intense or yummy as Laughing Cow - but in a pinch I do buy them but they are not my first choice.

on April 18, 2012

I found the flavored cream cheese Laughing Cow at Wal-Mart - $1.98 pack

on April 18, 2012

I love laughing cow! I mix a French Onion cheese (cut up) with a raw egg white and nuke it for a bit and it's sooooo good for a low cal snack or on a piece of bread, crackers, name your poison for a quick breakfast with a piece of fruit.

on April 18, 2012

I love cheese and I have loved the laughing cow cheese folr a long time. Your right it is the only low fat cheese I have tried that tastes like cheese.

on April 18, 2012

Laughing cow has totally replaced my need for cream cheese. I even spread it on the top of a veggie omelet to add a cheesy flavor to it. The mini's are also good and only 50 calories.

on April 18, 2012

I love Laughing Cow Lite cheeses, but for those of you who have an Aldi nearby, they occasionally have Happy Farms Light Cheese Wedges (cheddar flavor only) as a special buy for only $1.49!! I stock up whenever I see them as the 'sell by' date on the ones I have now is 12/15/2012. If you can find Coco Pops where you live, spread on a cheese wedge and top with sliced strawberries for an incredibly delicious 1 Pts+ treat. There is such great low points/calorie stuff out there now that's healthy and not all artificial yuck - much easier to watch your weight and eat healthy these days. Thanks, Snack Girl, for alerting us to what's out there in case we miss it!!

on April 18, 2012

I can't live without laughing cow cheese

on April 18, 2012

The new Cinnamon Laughing Cow is so good. Spread it on a vanilla wafer and it taste like Cheesecake. Just right for a touch of something sweet.

on April 18, 2012

LOVE the idea of Cinnamon Creme Laughing Cow on a vanilla wafer, but on a graham cracker - would be even *more* like cheesecake! Also put a little sliced strawberry on top ... YUM!

on April 18, 2012

Love laughing cow. Always did even before joining WW.

on April 18, 2012

I also LOVE Laughing Cow! It's a great WW breakfast or lunch for me...Josephs Pita (2 pts), Thin n Trim Sausage(1 pt) and a wedge of cheese (1 pt). Very filling for 5 points! It's also great to dip veggies or pretzels into. Great review!

on April 18, 2012

i too LOVE laughing cow, the chipolte on some triscuit crackers... delicious!!

on April 19, 2012

Oh. My. Goodness! Just today I was wondering if you (Lisa) had ever tried/reviewed Laughing Cow! I love everything they make, and it makes a quick protein hit easy and PointsPlus feasible! I especially love their light Baby Bels. I often throw one in my purse and carry it for later in the day. Their wedges can be used for all kinds of things, and make their way into many of my recipes. I'm glad you enjoyed Laughing Cow! :o)

on April 19, 2012

Sorry, I don't care for it! I don't like that texture. I don't like that wasteful foil wrapping either. Give me less quantity of a real hunk of cheese!

on April 19, 2012

garlic herb is my fav, too :) but they are all yummy! i agree with Lisa ^^ they are great on sandwiches for a creamy flavorful spread, or on veggies or fruits (apples) for a easy take anywhere snack.

on April 20, 2012

I love to use the french onion on cucumbers with a small collection of diced tomato and pepper with just a touch of sea salt. Great and healthy alternate for nachos

on April 20, 2012

Dear Snack Girl and everyone reading this,

I am a dietitian and i feel the urge to reply to this:

1. Your snack is very low in fiber. Do NOT peel the cucumber, that's where all the fiber is.

2.The Sodium (Salt) content is very high. Sodium recommendation per day should be limited to 6g which is equivalent to 2300mg/day. A product that has more than 140 mg of sodium in it is considered medium or high in its salt content...

Salt is very bad for our health, we all know this by now.

3. ALL spreadable cheeses, with NO exception are very low in their Calcium content and of no nutritional value. I wouldn't recommend these type of cheeses for children in particular unless rarely. Replace them with white cheese. They are the BEST (ex: cottage, fetta, white mozarella...etc)

Hope i am of help :)

on April 24, 2012

its okay. I like the Weight Watchers "cheese" flavors better. Parmesan & black peppercorn.

on April 24, 2012

My favorite Laughing Cow wedge flavor is "Light Mozzarella, Sun-Dried Tomato & Basil" - it's great on high-fiber crackers.

on April 25, 2012

I tried your green smoothie. It gives me much energy, but I read about eating cruciferous vegetables and how it can cause kidney stones, ect.

After about 1 1/2 weeks drinking this for breakfast, I started getting indigestion right after I drank it.

on April 28, 2012

I am NOT a cheese eater. However, since I started trying to loose wait, it's seemed like a good way to make sure I get calcium every day. Texture is what I wasn't crazy about, but I have tried Laughing Cow--and it's not bad on a cracker or two or a spread on a tortilla with some veggies. I'm a fan of the herb one. Mild and nice.

on April 29, 2012

I love laughing cow! Delicious! But I wish they had organic options. Hopefully they will soon!

on June 12, 2012

I saw a post from Monique on April 18, 2012 for making alfredo with Laughing Cow...would love the recipe!! I really want to try the cream cheese LC. Thanks!!

on July 11, 2012

I LOVE Laughing Cow cheese! I spread it on taco shells when we have tacos. Also on wraps, bagel thins, crackers.

on September 11, 2012

LC has been a godsend. Try the jalapeno flavour for a real jolt of flavour. I use it with shirataki noodles to make a WW 3 point bowl of comfort

on October 25, 2012

I buy Aldi fit and active copycat versions of Laughing Cow cheese...same great favors but cheaper!

on March 5, 2013

Laughing Cow is the best. I do not think there is a flavor I don't like! Strawberry is really good on bagels!!

on March 6, 2013

I use it in my low cal jalapeno poppers. They taste yummy ans don';t require a ton of cheese. Sprinkle a tiny bit of PaNKO FOR CRUNCH. rOAST AT 425 FOR AROUND 20 MINUTES GIVE OR TAKE., i USE NONFAT gREEK YOGURT WITH SOME BROWN MUSTARD ANS SRIRACHA FOR THE DIPPING SAUCE, love IT.

on August 15, 2013

I use the Chipotle laughing cow in a Crock Pot chicken taco-flavored soup. It makes it creamy without a lot of fat. Yum!

on February 13, 2014

I love Laughing Cow Light. I use it to take my pills too. Never thought of using it for my dog's pills. LOL. Costco has a four pack a lot cheaper than the regular stores for just one. I am a Weight Watcher member and enjoy the Snack Girl site. I am thinking about ordering her new book.

on March 20, 2014

We have a limited selection of these babies in Canada (no Queso, no Chipotle), but what we do have access to is fantastic. I use this stuff in Alfredo sauces, making Lite Mac'n Cheese, and in quesadillas with shreds of Babybel for extra creaminess. I always have a 24 pack or 2 in my fridge.

on June 4, 2015

If you're craving cheesecake, it is great spread on graham crackers. I put sugar free jam or a few berries on top. You could put it on a chocolate cracker too.

on June 4, 2015

Honestly, as a spread it's just so-so. I add a couple to marinara sauce and stir until they melt. Creamy, flavorful, and still light.

on March 29, 2016

When I opened the cheese box, I was unpleasantly surprised what image was inside. I love and use this cheese, but I can understand how the Company puts inside the box a picture of a cow-shaped as a DEVIL? Can somebody explain to me? The children use, especially, this chese. What can they learn about life? A cow which is neither female nor male, with earrings in both ears? It is against religion, against how we raise and educate our children. Nobody notice this thing? It is frightening and make us feel very bad. I talked to some friends and they have the same opinion as me. I hope the management of company will take action and fix it .

Regards a loyal customer.

on March 23, 2017


Add a comment:

(required)

(required, never published)




© 2020 Snack-Girl.com